Bermuda Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
this is my favorite now.i made this yesterday for iftar(dinner in ramadan)my guests and hubby loved this much so each one ate two portions :)) and this can be good with any sort of fish.the fish i used was a gilthead seabream or such a thing :P it was leftover of the day before tht i cooked in the oven.delicous and easy.i will always make this thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I have made this several times and have made a few changes . I added a few more spices, cayenne, dash nutmeg, tumeric, cumin, dash cinnamon, ginger and coriander. Ok, more than a few. The nutmeng, cumin and cinnamon especially give the flavour an exotic lift. No one can quite figure out the undertones but they love it. Just a little of everything is all it takes. Not too heavy or it is overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crogirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Really good soup. I used perch, tilapia, and 2 cans of clams - no green pepper and chicken broth instead of clam juice. Not spicy - maybe next time I'll use 2 jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was a pleasant surprise. I really liked the flavor and it was nice to have such a fresh tasting fish soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I had to make do with the ingredients I had on hand, and I didn't have enough clam juice. I made up the difference with chicken broth. I think it would have been much better if I had had enough juice. I did add extra seafood though (bar clams, scallops, crab, shrimp) and used tilapia instead of snapper, since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This is a good start. I looked at a few other recipes and tried to make it taste like what I had in Bermuda so I made a couple of changes, I added a dash of nutmeg, allspice, cayenne pepper, thyme, one clove, 2 tbsp of dark rum, 4 tbsp of sherry pepper sauce, and Walleye for the fish because I have a freezer full of it. Turned out great and smells so good when it's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
The flavors come through great! I am Bermudian but live overseas and this was a walk down memory lane. I only had Cod fish not snapper and I used Vegetable Broth instead of Clam juice. Also I added plaintains, dasheen, cassava, yams, corn on the cob and sweet potatoes to give my husband a little flavor of his guyanese heritage(he loves metem-gee). Excellent!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thiswifebakes
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I am a Bermudian and I have tried this recipe many times. I believe that you have to add your own amounts of seasoning when making fish chowder - to suit your personal taste - this recipe is the PERFECT start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe was great. I cooked it exactly according to the recipe, but since I had just under a pound of cod, I added some canned clams when I added the fish. It was really good. Just enough zing, but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
It's nice and tasty... but my hubby (who grew up in Bermuda) makes it a lot more spicy and fishy... still, it has a lovely taste in itself. Therefore, 3,5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Creston, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States