Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
The only changes I made were to sub canola oil for vegetable oil and no beef bouillon. I only use grass-fed beef and the flavor is so good that no bouillon is needed. This was a great recipe that really tenderized the tough cube steak. I checked on it after an hour in the pan and it was tender and I was hungry so I ate it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I cooked the steak in the crock pot about 5 hours on low and didn't use the stove. I used season salt instead of regular salt. I lined the bottom of the crock pot with cooking oil, sliced onions, and minced garlic. I dredged the steak in flour before putting it in the crock pot. I used 32 oz of beef broth and poured a can of mushrooms on top. I added flour after about 4 hours and stirred it in to start making gravy. I made the rest of the gravy when the steak was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
easy and YUMMY! I use a gas stove, and it doesn't have the "low" or "simmer" option. I lightly boiled the cube steaks for about one hr not 2 and they were divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
I have made several recipes on here and have always had success with anything with this positive of a rating. I followed the instructions EXACTLY, with the exception I followed the "top reviewer Carianne's" comment. I chose to follow her advice and cook it in my oven for 2 hours after browning them at 325 degrees. Surely you meant 225, Carianne? UGGH. THEY WERE DRIED OUT AND BLACK. I went with her advice over the instructions because of the fact simmering would be MORE LIKELY than the oven to torch those steaks. VERY DISAPPOINTED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
My 14 year old ate almost two pieces and put a ton of gravy on his potatoes! everyone wants it again. I'm not a cook at all but this was so easy..win for mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
The recipe is good they way it is posted. Have already made it about 4 or 5 times. By far the most tender cube steak I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Traina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I love this recipe. The cube steak was so tender that my kids could cut it with their forks. The first time I made this I followed the recipe to the letter and served it up with mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. The second time I made it, I wanted to save room on the stove, so I browned them in a cast iron skillet, covered the pan with foil and stuck in a 325 oven for the 2 hour simmer time. It turned out just as lovely as when I stove simmered it. The third time I made it, right before I put it in the oven, I placed a slice of onion on each cube steak. Then I served them on toasted sandwich rolls. The meat is so tender it makes perfect steak sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I love this recepie! Simple and oldschool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene Andrade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nhanna
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Anytime hubby cleans his plate I feel like dinner was an accomplishment! This is his favorite meal- cube steak, mashed potatoes and green beans. The only difference is I cooked the steaks through and kept them in the oven while I finished everything else. The gravy was tricky but at the end it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Ok. I made this last night for dinner and my husband raved on and on. Lol...He says I can make this 3 times a week if I want to, it's so good. Now, I did, and didn't, follow the recipe. Let me explain. I didn't have bouillon in any form. So, I improvised. Here's what I did. I omitted the salt pepper on the steak and I seasoned the cube steaks with Mrs. Dash Onion and Herb seasoning. I pressed it into the meat, on both sides. Then, I pressed the cube steaks into the flour, both sides. I sprayed my skillet with a non stick spray,then I added just a little bit of the oil into the pan. I got the pan hot. Then I placed the meat into the pan and fried them until crispy, on both sides. I removed them from the pan. I did this 2 twice, because I was cooking 5 large cube steaks that were too big to fit into my skillet at one time. Anyway, I sauteed a whole onion. Then I added 4 cups of low sodium beef broth. Then, I added 2 envelopes of Lipton Onion Soup Mix. Mixed it well. Then I placed all 5 cube steaks into the pan and put a lid on and just let it simmer for 2 hours. It came out so tender and so awesome and with great flavor. Had the perfect amount of gravy. I noticed in some reviews, they ran short, but I was doubling the amount of meat I was cooking anyway and I knew we'd like the gravy. **Note: omitting the salt is a good idea when using a soup mix as they are very high in sodium. Otherwise, it could come out very salty. Oh, I served this over Basmati Rice and a veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthetimeaway

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States