Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by alienz17
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I follower the recipe as it says but did add seasoning to the flour mix. I was a little disappointed in the way it turned out :-/ was a bit dry and not as good as I hoped for. It did make a nice gravy to put over top. I was expecting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I love this recipe! Our family does not really enjoy beef that much, but this recipe is one that they love. It is truly a 5 star recipe. After making it a few times, I have changed it somewhat, but will not bother to post the changes, as I really find it annoying when people do this, and then post on how their changes made it a "Real 5 star recipe". Thank you so much for one of the best recipes that I have come across on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I love this recipe. I cook my steaks in crisco, then I add sliced onions and follow the Recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I took the advice of some of the others, and after browning the cube steaks I sauteed some onions and fresh mushrooms in the skillet. I added 2 T. Amish beef base and 1 1/2 cups of water to the onions/mushrooms and simmered them about 5 minutes before pouring it over the cube steaks in a casserole dish. Baked at 325 for about an hour and a half, then took the steaks out and added about 2 T. flour to the juice to make a nice onion/mushroom gravy. Very tender and flavorful, but glad I took them out at 90 minutes. I think 2 hours would have made them too dry. Very nice way to do something different with a normally ho-hum cut of meat. Thanks for the recipe and to the other reviewers for their suggestions. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Nice recipes, just like mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this exactly the way the recipe stated. It was excellent! My husband loved it and so did I. I will definitely be making this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this recipe one night when I ran out of dinner ideas and had the experimental combination of being low on groceries and not wanting to brave the cold to get said groceries. I just call this smothered steak because it replaced my old recipe for that in a heartbeat. I've made this more times than I can count. I pretty much follow the recipe, except I love onions and I add about half a cup of them at the beginning. They pretty much cook away after two hours, so my little niece and nephew haven eaten it with impunity. Minced garlic can add a bit of flavor too. This is the definition of comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Very tender, this meal is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I added onions and mushrooms and baked it for 2 hours...it was the BEST cubed steak I have ever made! My son loves cube steak and usually uses a knife to cut it up but this recipes makes the cube steaks so tender that a knife isn't needed! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Great flavor and the meat was super tender. Our 2 year old couldn't get enough and she doesn't really care for steak of any kind. Served with mashed potatoes to top out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy52317

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States