Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was delicious! I floured and cooked about 6 steaks for 3 minutes on each side, then added two cups of water in which two beef bouillon cubes had been dissolved. I added a little Worcestershire sauce and a sliced onion. I only simmered for one hour and the meat was so tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I floured and browned the steaks in butter and added sliced onion to the pan. Instead of bullion, I mixed a can of beefy mushroom soup with water and poured over steak after it was browned. simmered for about an hour. I didn't have to thicken the gravy, there was enough flour on the meat to do it. I rated the original recipe a 3 because I changed it so much and I couldn't post this without some kind of rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I was a bit leary to try this because of the amoung of oil used. Only had 3 cube steaks so scaled recipe and used 1/4 cup oil. I did use the 1 tablespoon of beef boulion (Herbox) and used enough water to almost cover the steaks. I browned and baked in a cast iron pan covered with foil. WOW..we were pleasantly surprised at how good these were. Baked at 325 and they were fork tender in an hour. Not as greasy as I expected. Next time I might add a little flour to the gravy...maybe not. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANGOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
So easy a good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I was looking for something easy and no hassle to make, at my witts end with all the normal stuff I make for supper..this was great, prep was quick and easy, was able to leave it to cook while at one of my childrens sports functions. I used beef broth instead of water and thickened it with corn starch, I forgot about making the gravy with flour, but I will try that next time..We ate it with rice, however I think it would have been better with mashed potatoes...will make again, steak super tender and yummy..family loved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Wonderful and very easy to make which is exactly what I need because I don't like to cook. Followed recipe exactly with no substitutions and steak was very tender. My husband and daughter both ate even though they were both skeptical. He has never eaten any cube steak I have ever made and today he went back for seconds. Will definitely make again. When I made the gravy, I took the meat out and put on plate. Then poured remaining broth into a gravy separator and drained most of the oil out before putting it back in pan. I added a little milk, corn starch, and Worcesterchire sauce and heated back up. Poured over mashed potatoes and on steak. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Hey Chris, fixed this last night for dinner. It was great! Made the gravy out of milk and served it with mashed potatoes and corn. Your mom is a great cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Never had cubed steak this tender before! Was missing a little flavor, though...will try adding onions net time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBA21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
It turned out fork tender. The first time ever I've made cube steak fork tender. I did as some other reviewers suggested, used beef broth instead of water/bouillon and added onions. Wonderful recipe! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Fantastic recipe, just like Mom used to make. I mix some cornstarch and water in a glass and add it to the drippings to make gravy. It doesn't dull the flavor as much as using flour does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States