Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
`
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlton Reese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Excellent recipe. Made it exactly as instructed and turned out perfect! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is how I cook cube steak, it is so tender and good! If I have it on hand I use a can of French onion soup instead of water and beef bouillon. Sometimes I also add potatoes and carrots on top before simmering for a one pan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This recipe arrived in my in-box and the reviews were so good that I decided I had to buy cube steaks and give it a try. After reading other reviews, I decided to sauté an onion and some garlic in my pan before browning the cube steak. I put the sautéed onions and garlic on top of the individual servings of steak -- after browning and before adding the water and bouillon granules. I opted to bake mine for two hours in a 300-degree oven. When it came out, I made gravy with the liquid left in the pan and leftover flour (from breading the steaks) and milk. The result? Definitely fork-tender and the flavor was pretty good. I agree with other reviewers that it might be pretty bland if not for the onions and garlic. Reminds me of a cross between hamburger steak and chicken-fried steak. In the end, I think it's a good recipe, I just don't think I"m a big fan of cube steak. Probably won't make it again, but if you like cube steak, I would recommend giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This is definitely a keeper~I'm not much of a beef eater, but this was awesome. I didn't change a thing other than the addition of some onions. I served it with rice and green beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Delicious and inexpensive! The extra cooking time is worth it; although I found I needed to add a bit more water towards the end. I did add some additional spices to the flour (crushed red pepper, Nature's Seasoning - this replaced the salt/pepper, and some dry mustard). I also put several slices of red onion on top at the beginning so they caramelized nicely. Gravy is wonderful over rice or potatoes. Perfect dinner for a hungry bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Added onions and mushrooms. Was very good. Melted in your mouth. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy M Parnell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My husband loved it, this will definately be a family recipe for us! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I Like the approach of braising for 2 hours but changed it to some of my basic technique for slow cooking. First of all I Used beef stock, then deglased with a 1 cup of good red wine, cooked for 1 1/2 hours removed the steaks, skimmed the fat off returned to pan, added 1 tbs of kitchen boutique for flavor and color, reduced by 1/3 added 1 tbs butter, returned the steak to the pan turn to coat and served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Very easy and simple recipe! Meat was very tender and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States