Berdean's Cube Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I give this five stars before even trying it. Why? I love cube steak, always have, we have it once or twice a month pan fried. Now I cook for my mother in law five times a week and she likes her food very tender. I KNOW I will love this because it's exactly like my pan fried recipe, only difference is the slow baked simmering. I wanted a recipe to make the meat tender like old fashioned Swiss Steak, one of my mother in laws favorite dishes. I don't enjoy pounding the round steak before slow cooking Swiss Steak for a couple of hours. Now I see I can take my mother in laws Swiss Steak recipe and adapt it to cube steak. Now I have a way to fix tender meat in one of her favorite meals and one of mine. Thanks for sharing. Simplicity is something to celebrate! * Well, now it's nine hours later and I stand by my Five Star review. I kept getting comments all during the meal saying, "This is really good." One of my sons said, "I think I like this better than pan fried cube steak." The meat was fall apart tender. I put one can cream of mushroom soup, 3 cans water, one tsp minced garlic, and five bullion cubes in a bowl, stirred together and set aside. I browned 10 cube steaks as described in recipe, then sliced 2 small onions. I layered the meat in a dutch oven, spread onions over the top of the meat poured the wet mixture to cover it all, baked covered in 275 degree oven four hours, served over rice with a warm roll and a side of steamed carrots and parsley flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is a lovely recipe. I baked it in the oven as advised from another reviewer. All the family enjoyed it. My only question is the milk in the comment is not in the recipe. If I wanted to, I would add a tbs or 2 of cream at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great, easy recipe. Had cube steaks that I did not know what to do with. My husband, who is usually not a big steak fan, let alone cube steaks, loved it. I used 1 can cream of mushroom soup with some water, instead of water/buillion mixture. Made a lovely gravy/sauce that went well with the steak & mashed sweat potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I added sauteed onions, a little dried thyme and fresh oregano + used splash of heavy cream in the final gravy. There were NO leftovers. My family were nearly licking their plates, it was soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight and my husband loved it. Will definitely make it again. Easy to prepare and delicious. I made a mistake and added too much bouillon so it was really salty. Had to tweak it to get the saltiness out. I think next time ill use low sodium beef broth instead of the bouillon and ill add mushrooms. Great recipe. Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I've never made cube steak before but this was good and tender. My son didn't like it, but my bf who loves cube steak said it was good. Worth making again. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was delicious!!! I didn't do anything extra to the recipe!! I made gravy out of the drippings and that was delicious as well. Great meal. Have leftovers for tomorrow's lunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I cannot BELIEVE how many stars this recipe received!!!! This was one of the most awful things I have ever made in my life - simmering them for 2 hours like that made them extremely dry - to the point that my husband wouldn't even eat them, and he has NEVER turned away food. I only made this recipe because of the high ratings it got and I still can't believe the result. So disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Very good, however like many other cooks, I added chopped onion, garlic and mushrooms to the "sauce" ... I also added red wine (cheap burgundy) for part of the water ... Lastly, I stirred in a bit of Kitchen Bouquet" to darken the slightly pinkish (from wine) sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
What a great recipe for a lousy cut of meat! I actually enjoyed my cube steak this evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States