Ben's Seafood Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This was a little bland for our taste. With a little spicing up, it became darn good. First, I substituted finely diced celery for the water chestnuts, then added 1T horseradish, 2T finely minced sweet pickle and 2t dijon mustard. It was good, but when I made it the following time, I substituted Cream of Tomato soup for the mushroom, substituted celery for chestnuts, and once again added the horseradish and sweet pickle. My friends and family preferred it made with tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
A very good recipe, just needs a little spicing up. I added 2 Tbs of southwest seasoning and that made a huge difference. I'm thinking about trying tabasco next time. Also, I used the small canned shrimp you find in the international food aisle, made prep time a lot easier. Better on day 2, so I make it the night before a gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
This was a really quick & easy recipe, but I would not waste good shrimp on it! There is just no flavor to the recipe, I tried adding different spice which helped, but it took a while to doctor it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Although this is a good recipe, it needed punching up. I added 2 teaspoons of Old Bay Seasoning. More could easily be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This recipe received rave reviews and requests at Thanksgiving with family and at the office among staff members. It's crunchy/creamy and delicious just the way it is--and it's quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Wonderful! This is a very creamy, smooth dip. I tried rolling it in chopped nuts after it has set for an extra dash of pizazz. A great recipe for supermarket shrimp and fresh vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Perfect! Finally! I think this is the 4th seafood salad recipe I've made in the last couple of months and this one is wonderful -- perfect consistancy and yummy taste. On crackers or a sub this awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I made this for the most recent Super Bowl party. It sure makes A LOT! Everyone said they liked it but I still brought half of it home so I'm wondering how much they really liked it!? I added 3 tsp. of Old Bay seasoning (as someone had suggested) and I think it added a lot to the taste. Not sure if I would make it again, though since I brought so much back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This recipe was just OK for me. It seemed pretty bland even though I used a flavoured cream cheese. It seems to need something to perk up the flavour ... perhaps some cocktail sauce or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I love this dip. I have been making a variation of it for years. I had fresh crab so that is what I used instead of shrimp. I also added about 3/4 cup of light mayonnaise to the mixture and it turns out perfectly. Always gets rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States