Benny's Famous Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Saved the best for last. Just when I thought I was not going to find a popper recipe that sounded right....i got to the last one. And just in time for Superbowl!! Love the crunch of the corn and the mix of cream and cheddar cheese. Love them bacon wrapped and grilled rather than breaded. Worked great in the oven!! Made a test batch today, don't want to mess up the Superbowl snacks ;) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I make this recipe all the time without corn BUT I roll the bacon wrapped jalapeno in a mixture of brown sugar and chili powder! Absolutely love them and so do all my friends and family! My mother requests them every time I come home to visit and so does my mother in law! I don't go to a party where I don't get asked for the recipe! Just put more chili powder in if you want them spicier, or more brown sugar if you like them sweet! The husband likes them really spicy so for him I put alittle cayenne powder and chili powder in the cream cheese mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Loved the corn added to the mixture for this popper. It gave the popper more substance and they were very filling. I used jalapeños and mini red, yellow and orange peppers for the people who couldn't take the heat from the jalapeños. Both types were very well received. I made as written and used turkey bacon to help cut calories. This will be made often this summer as grilling season starts. Thanks Bennyh614 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
When using a bacon-wrapped recipe, I always half-fry the bacon before wrapping - it guarantees crisp results. Excellent recipe along-side rumaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I love making these, but I like to drop the heat and cook longer. I go about 325-340 for about 40 minutes. Bacon renders nicely and the peppers get a nice roasted quality to them. Plus, you can take that bacon grease and make the best hashbrowns and eggs the next morning :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Forks Afb, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made these without the corn. My husband made fun of me for making about 50 of them, said there was no way our little crowd would eat that many. Well guess what, everyone loved them and they were gone in no time flat! They are simple, but time consuming to make, but maybe if you're not making 50, it wouldn't take that long... Will be making these again. Make sure to give them enough time in the over/grill for the bacon to crisp up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I didn't have bacon or corn but I did sprinkle real bacon bits on top and they came out uber delicious! Mine were done in 15 minutes in the oven at 400 degrees. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audry W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
These are to die for! Made them for a 4th of July party, and they were gone in no time... I used red sweet peppers that were the same size as jalapenos and baked them (broiled at the end) in the oven. I will file this recipe away for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is what awesome tastes like. I used a Mexican cheese blend instead of straight cheddar and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth Amboy, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Matawan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Terrific recipe, Bennyh. The addition of the crisp/fresh corn kernels made the recipe exceptional. If I have particularly hot-smelling jalapenos, I de-seed them under running water, to help with the side effects of taking the seeds out. Since I opted for baking these in the oven, I followed another reviewer's advice and used the fried-up bacon bits in the filling. I couldn't think of a way to hold the poppers up off of the baking sheet so they wouldn't be swallowed up by the fat from the bacon. I took another's advice and added chives. Since I added the bacon bits and chives to the filling, there was filling left over. We found this filling made a very tasty dip on crackers. It would probably make a nice cheese ball too. I can't emphasize enough what the fresh corn added to this recipe (texture and taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States