Benny's Famous Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Terrific recipe, Bennyh. The addition of the crisp/fresh corn kernels made the recipe exceptional. If I have particularly hot-smelling jalapenos, I de-seed them under running water, to help with the side effects of taking the seeds out. Since I opted for baking these in the oven, I followed another reviewer's advice and used the fried-up bacon bits in the filling. I couldn't think of a way to hold the poppers up off of the baking sheet so they wouldn't be swallowed up by the fat from the bacon. I took another's advice and added chives. Since I added the bacon bits and chives to the filling, there was filling left over. We found this filling made a very tasty dip on crackers. It would probably make a nice cheese ball too. I can't emphasize enough what the fresh corn added to this recipe (texture and taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Awesome recipe. Added chives and chopped bacon and added to cheese mix as opposed to wrapping pepper with it. Baked at 400 degrees for 20 min. Deeeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Oh My God! These are great as is. I made one batch, then another and there were still no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Estes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
When using a bacon-wrapped recipe, I always half-fry the bacon before wrapping - it guarantees crisp results. Excellent recipe along-side rumaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I love making these, but I like to drop the heat and cook longer. I go about 325-340 for about 40 minutes. Bacon renders nicely and the peppers get a nice roasted quality to them. Plus, you can take that bacon grease and make the best hashbrowns and eggs the next morning :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Forks Afb, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Tried these today for a football game. These were great and not really spicy. I will definitely be making these again. I left out the corn because I didn't have any. They cooked fine in the oven at 400 for about 20 min. I also added chopped fresh chives that I had on hand to the cheese mixture. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Bussman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Have a similar recipe to this one I've been using for years. The only difference in mine is we cut cubes of different cheeses (pepper jack and sharp cheddar were always the predominant favorites) and when we grilled them, we also coated them with barbeque sauce...never fails to be a crowd pleaser though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I make this recipe all the time without corn BUT I roll the bacon wrapped jalapeno in a mixture of brown sugar and chili powder! Absolutely love them and so do all my friends and family! My mother requests them every time I come home to visit and so does my mother in law! I don't go to a party where I don't get asked for the recipe! Just put more chili powder in if you want them spicier, or more brown sugar if you like them sweet! The husband likes them really spicy so for him I put alittle cayenne powder and chili powder in the cream cheese mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I would add to this recipe the steps to cleaning the peppers and what NOT to touch after you've de-seeded them. I made the mistake of touching of lips and ouch that's a burning sensation I've not felt since getting jelly fish in a cut out fishing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
These were the first poppers I've made like this, and they were a big hit! I only had one cob of corn that came to 4 oz, so I added a little Parmesan cheese (an idea from another recipe). I also baked these in the oven because I didn't have the time to watch them on the grill outside. They are very delicious--and quite mild, all things considered! I loved the idea of the corn! I informed my guests that these were our veggies for the night (besides the salad I served), and they were totally happy with that! Thanks for the recipe, Benny! I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States