Benne Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I just now made these cookies....absolutely delicious! Thin, yet with Outstanding flavor, buttery, and just enough crispness and crunch! Thanks for the tip of the parchament paper, guys, it worked like a breeze! No sticking to the pan whatsoever. For flavor- I do not like bland cookies so just to be safe I added the teaspoon of vanilla plus half a teaspoon of almond extract. Went beautifully with the nutty sesame flavor....mmmmmm....mouthwatering.......can't stop eating them :) Thank you so much, Holly! You're recipe is DEFINATELY worth saving. If you like sesame flavor or want to try it in a new way- this recipe is for you! caution: be sure your drops are no bigger than 1 teaspoon, or if you do put them at least 2 and 1/2 inches apart. They like to spread out and get cuddly....:) Take em out when dark around the edges but not burnt...they will be soft and breakable but hardens quick enough...messed up a few cookies when I removed the parchament from pan right out of the oven.....be 'steady' and you'll be fine! Sorry I went on so long, hope ya try these and have success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Mmmmmmm - I just made these and they are delicious. Reading the reviews, I followed the upside-down foil tip and that worked perfectly, plus made clean up a cinch. I purchased the sesame for less at a bulk food store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kevinsmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
My dad had mentioned something about wanting Benne Wafers not too long ago, so while he was in TN, I found this recipe and made them, then sent him some. Dad was suprised how great they were - better than the ones you would get in Charleston, SC! He shared them with my aunt and uncle, and now my aunt wants the recipe! I would probably stick with the 6 minutes for baking if you are at a higher elevation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhoneCardLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
This is the best benne wafer recipe I've tried. Crisp and delicious. I bake mine on aluminum foil lined cookie sheets, but it is important to make sure that you put the shiny side down so that you are placing the cookie dough on the dull side. The shiny side will reflect tooo much heat and burn the cookies. Once they're baked and cooled, you can just peel them off the foil. Thanks, Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
nice nutty texture to it, be careful not to put too big spoonfuls on the pan or they will all run together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
good cookies to have with afternoon tea. sophisticated flavour...not a huge hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was an awesome recipe....my baking powder was a bit outdated..so it didn`t rise, but it was still wonderful!! crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside...Girls at work loooved it!! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbainville, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
These ARE excellent. Try to stick to the 1/2 tsp measurement, it helps. Parchment paper works very well, but you can also use Reynolds "Release" foil with the same results. After the first batch, cool down the pan and wipe the foil with a paper towel, then use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
These were excellent! They weren't any trouble to make, didn't even have to break out the mixer. The parchment paper was a great tip by a reviewer. I used level teaspoons of the batter and baked for 5 minutes. This gave me 85 cookies. Holly, thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States