Benne Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I messed with this recipe a bit. I used 1/2 c. sesame seeds (toasted in a skillet), 2 eggs, and 1 1/2 cups flour. No salt. They turned out so great! Very butterscotchy, and not as lacy as this recipe seems to yield. Must be the extra egg and flour that does it. Baked at 350 for 8 minutes. They were crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside, and totally divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I think I expected these to taste like the ones I have had in Lebanon....they soooo didn't. I will keep looking for a good sesame cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahGrace
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
These are delicious, and just like I remember them from my great-aunt's home in Columbia, SC, when I was a child. They are VERY fragile, however, so probably not a good cookie to send out as a gift. They ARE supposed to be lacy and they are NOT supposed to rise (to answer the queries of previous reviewers). Next time I think I may cut back on the butter by 1 tbsp and add 1 tbsp more flour as I think the ones I remember as a kid were a little less fragile--but just a little :) Also, this recipe makes WAY MORE than 36 cookies at the suggested 1/2 tsp size. I quit counting at some point but I probably got 80 or more just like another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
The taste is everything I remember from Charleston. I love that nuttiness. I used the recommended parchment successfully. No problem with sticking. I may have done something wrong because nobody else mentioned their's turning out lacy. My baking powder is not out of date but they just didn't rise--not that the laciness isn't exquisite. I may cut back on butter or add flour to tweak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Not quite as crunchy or as sweet as the store-bought benne wafers in a tin, but still very good. Be careful when toasting the sesame seeds and watch them closely. They go from toasted to burnt in a matter of seconds. Also, I would definitely recommend parchment paper or foil on the cookie sheet. These are too soft to remove from the cookie sheet when you take them out of the oven. They must cool and harden before it's safe to remove them. I used foil on the cookie sheets and then slid the entire piece of foil from the cookie sheet to the countertop so the wafers could cool. I could then easily reuse the cookie sheet and put another batch in the oven. This recipe made 64 wafers. Do not use more than 1/2 teaspoon of batter for each cookie because they do spread signficantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Uhhhhhh . . .so good. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Drury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Good, but more like sugar cookies than wafers. I'm going to try to tweak this recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
These came out very well. I use restaurant quality sheet pans from restaurant supply stores that are open to the public where anyone can get restaurant quality equipment for less than lesser quality, more expensive kitchen supplies. Line with a sheet of parchment paper or use a Silpat. Mounded half-teaspoon portions of dough yield cookies about 4 inches wide and come out perfectly at 6 minutes. Watch them to determine time for your oven. Everyone's ovens are different. They were a hit at a gathering of 90 unrelated people. So the fact that this makes a lot of cookies is helpful for large gatherings. I'm rating this a three because the recipe needs some tweaking regarding lining the pan and because these cookies are very sweet, far too sweet for my own taste so I won't be making them again. But those with a serious sweet for sweet's sake tooth will love them. I'll start looking at Asian sesame cookie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
very yummy. Even my kids liked this one. They were rich, but not too sweet. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena2222

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
These are great, flat little cookies. They do spread out quite a bit. Use a Silpat or one of those flexible silicon baking sheet liners to avoid stickiness instead of grease and parchment paper. They do take a while to bake due to the small amount of dough required per cookie, and the short amount of time needed to bake each sheet. 5 minutes per baking sheet was more than enough for me, and I was continuously spooning out dough while one sheet was baking. Even still I was never fast enough to finish before the sheet that was in the oven was done baking. But they are yummy and the dough is easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States