Benne Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lemonwguitar
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Love it. At 5 minutes they are already great but my oven doesn't heat evenly so half of them are less crispy than the other half. I will definitely give this recipe another try soon. The taste is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley Havelange
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
We traveled to Jordan this year. They also make a sesame cookie. This is even better. Easy to make. Made no changes. Followed the instructions. And followed other reviews tips. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Havelange

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This recipe is very easy to make, but I found it time intensive because of the 1/2 tsp drops. I followed it exactly and got great results. I would not make this again just because the cookie is on the sweet side for my particular taste. However, the crispy texture was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
My kids and I loved these. We usually buy benne wafers when in Charleston, SC. So glad I found a recipe to make them at home. The only thing I did different was to use a 1/4 tsp to scoop out dough onto cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
These are good, but don't have quite the taste of the ones made in Charleston. These have a more candy-like consistency - they get stuck in your teeth and don't have much crunch, even after ample baking. I added a little more flour to the last half of the batter, and it was perfect. I will definitely make these again, but with 1 cup flour instead of 3/4. Thank you, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
a really great recipe and so easy to make. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I'm a northern lady so have had no prior experience with benne commercially or homemade. Holy SMOKES these are good. If you like the taste of sesame, these will be a hit for you. I used parchment on jelly roll pans for max space. While one pan was cooking for 5 min, the other cooled for 3 min, I took them off and reloaded the last 2 min. and changed pans out. I can see why others said they do take time. This worked for me. The only change I would make might be a bit less butter, mine were fairly greasy. Thanks Holly for introducing me to a wonderful southern food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMPLELIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I just made these cookies this a.m. and they are delicious! Went by the recipe to the letter.....I put my dough mix into a squeeze bottle and made most of the cookies the same size, not over a teaspoon for each.....Couldn't find the sesame seeds at first and they were not in the spice section of the grocery store.......They were in the Chinese section............YUM !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sardis, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
made with toasted white and black sesame seeds, came out yummy and pretty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
We made these for our class since we were doing a report on South Carolina-they turned out great! Let them cool on the paper before you try to peel off the wafer. We ate lots of non-presentable cookies-they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States