Benne Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shelley Havelange
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
We traveled to Jordan this year. They also make a sesame cookie. This is even better. Easy to make. Made no changes. Followed the instructions. And followed other reviews tips. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Havelange

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This recipe is very easy to make, but I found it time intensive because of the 1/2 tsp drops. I followed it exactly and got great results. I would not make this again just because the cookie is on the sweet side for my particular taste. However, the crispy texture was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
My kids and I loved these. We usually buy benne wafers when in Charleston, SC. So glad I found a recipe to make them at home. The only thing I did different was to use a 1/4 tsp to scoop out dough onto cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
These are good, but don't have quite the taste of the ones made in Charleston. These have a more candy-like consistency - they get stuck in your teeth and don't have much crunch, even after ample baking. I added a little more flour to the last half of the batter, and it was perfect. I will definitely make these again, but with 1 cup flour instead of 3/4. Thank you, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
a really great recipe and so easy to make. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I'm a northern lady so have had no prior experience with benne commercially or homemade. Holy SMOKES these are good. If you like the taste of sesame, these will be a hit for you. I used parchment on jelly roll pans for max space. While one pan was cooking for 5 min, the other cooled for 3 min, I took them off and reloaded the last 2 min. and changed pans out. I can see why others said they do take time. This worked for me. The only change I would make might be a bit less butter, mine were fairly greasy. Thanks Holly for introducing me to a wonderful southern food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMPLELIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I just made these cookies this a.m. and they are delicious! Went by the recipe to the letter.....I put my dough mix into a squeeze bottle and made most of the cookies the same size, not over a teaspoon for each.....Couldn't find the sesame seeds at first and they were not in the spice section of the grocery store.......They were in the Chinese section............YUM !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sardis, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
made with toasted white and black sesame seeds, came out yummy and pretty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
We made these for our class since we were doing a report on South Carolina-they turned out great! Let them cool on the paper before you try to peel off the wafer. We ate lots of non-presentable cookies-they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I messed with this recipe a bit. I used 1/2 c. sesame seeds (toasted in a skillet), 2 eggs, and 1 1/2 cups flour. No salt. They turned out so great! Very butterscotchy, and not as lacy as this recipe seems to yield. Must be the extra egg and flour that does it. Baked at 350 for 8 minutes. They were crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside, and totally divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States