Bengali Chicken Curry with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good! I would recommend probably doubling all of the spice ingredients listed (with the exception of the cilantro). You can also add coconut milk for a bit more sauce and a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
A very tasty dish. I doubled the spices to turn up the heat a bit. It turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This sounds great! I especially like the thought of using sweet potatoes. A precious friend from Ceylon introduced us to rice and curry which is now a 3 generation family favorite :) She used ginger for "heat" but I may try the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
It looks nice I will try to make it to my family this weekend but I don"t know what is cayenne pepper or can I use another spice instead of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe-I have made this dish many times. My ex-is from bangladesh. I always top off with fresh lemon, also i added fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neenah

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I made this dish tonight and it is very tasty. I added 2 more potatoes to it and had to add about 1/2 cup of water. Also needs salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
AWESOME dish! I added mushrooms and doubled the spices. My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is an awesome recipe! I marinated the chicken with some salt, peper, garlic powder, garam masala and plain yogurt before adding them in. Like the other users, I prefer more sauce and added water and a lot more of the spices. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jencali
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I did add about 1 cup of vegetable broth, to allow the potatoes & carrots I included to cook in. Served it over fries and brown rice. Hubby LOVED it and asked for it again! Definitely a curry recipe that I'll be keeping & sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Making this was so much fun, smelling all the flavors as I sautéed each ingredient, but adding the masala sauce, OMG that made the dish and sent the aroma throughout our complex!!! A must try recipe I highly recommend it, but don't forget for those of you wanting more sauce, add water also, because that will help cook the potatoes well, and like myself, I love carrots so I added them to give more volume. SNAPS TO THE CREATOR OF THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States