Bengali Chicken Curry with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very Very tastey! My husband and I like a bit more "gravy" so we doubled everything but the chicken and potato with the exception of the cayenne pepper. We used peeled, cubed sweet potatoes instead of red, because it's what we had on hand, and we prefer them to white flesh potatoes. Total simmer time went up to an hour, but it was totally worth it. The sweet and the spice flavors together were SO good. I would highly recommend starting off by cooking all the spices in the oil first, then adding the onions, tomatoes ect. Then it's a proper gravy. Oh so good, and tastes even better the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Baity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Cayenne pepper is ground red pepper. You may be able to use crushed red pepper in it's place. This msg is for um ahmed. I have not tried this recipe yet but it looks quite interesting doing the stir fry today. It sounds like a 3 or 4 rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe-I have made this dish many times. My ex-is from bangladesh. I always top off with fresh lemon, also i added fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neenah

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I made this dish tonight and it is very tasty. I added 2 more potatoes to it and had to add about 1/2 cup of water. Also needs salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
AWESOME dish! I added mushrooms and doubled the spices. My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good! I would recommend probably doubling all of the spice ingredients listed (with the exception of the cilantro). You can also add coconut milk for a bit more sauce and a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Delicious and Spicy with a kick! I will be making this one again. I wished it had more gravy but it ended up a little drier than I had hoped, maybe next time I'll add a bit of water to make a little more soupy. Just my preference though. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
It looks nice I will try to make it to my family this weekend but I don"t know what is cayenne pepper or can I use another spice instead of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This sounds great! I especially like the thought of using sweet potatoes. A precious friend from Ceylon introduced us to rice and curry which is now a 3 generation family favorite :) She used ginger for "heat" but I may try the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I did what the other reviews said. I agree, not enoough sauce for us and I added a lot more curry and doubled the spices. Different taste than other currys I had. Nice alternate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristaBilbrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States