Bengali Chicken Curry with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Making this was so much fun, smelling all the flavors as I sautéed each ingredient, but adding the masala sauce, OMG that made the dish and sent the aroma throughout our complex!!! A must try recipe I highly recommend it, but don't forget for those of you wanting more sauce, add water also, because that will help cook the potatoes well, and like myself, I love carrots so I added them to give more volume. SNAPS TO THE CREATOR OF THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good! I would recommend probably doubling all of the spice ingredients listed (with the exception of the cilantro). You can also add coconut milk for a bit more sauce and a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
It looks nice I will try to make it to my family this weekend but I don"t know what is cayenne pepper or can I use another spice instead of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe-I have made this dish many times. My ex-is from bangladesh. I always top off with fresh lemon, also i added fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neenah

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I made this dish tonight and it is very tasty. I added 2 more potatoes to it and had to add about 1/2 cup of water. Also needs salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
AWESOME dish! I added mushrooms and doubled the spices. My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This sounds great! I especially like the thought of using sweet potatoes. A precious friend from Ceylon introduced us to rice and curry which is now a 3 generation family favorite :) She used ginger for "heat" but I may try the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is an awesome recipe! I marinated the chicken with some salt, peper, garlic powder, garam masala and plain yogurt before adding them in. Like the other users, I prefer more sauce and added water and a lot more of the spices. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jencali
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I did add about 1 cup of vegetable broth, to allow the potatoes & carrots I included to cook in. Served it over fries and brown rice. Hubby LOVED it and asked for it again! Definitely a curry recipe that I'll be keeping & sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
A very tasty dish. I doubled the spices to turn up the heat a bit. It turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States