Ben Lippen School Coffee Cake (Mrs. Hathaway's recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This cake is just ok. I made it as is. As far as flavor goes the title says it all "school coffee cake." I recommend this only for its simplicity and bare cupboard ingredients. Definitely make your own version of this with different toppings. I wish mine had butterscotch chips and pecans, or almonds and dried cranberries. Lastly, the cake came out fine without greasing the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I don't bake much at all so of course i looked for a quick and easy recipe to satisfy my sweet tooth. This recipe is now my favorite dessert! I read some of the other reviews before i started and they were very helpful. I doubled the topping and watched my cooking time and it turned out perfect! Cant wait make this for my friends! O, and i wouldve never missed a day at this school! haha!Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was just OK. If I would have read the other reviews I would have changed the topping to brown sugar and doubled it. This was more cake-like than coffee cake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this for my family this morning and they loved it. It has very good texture and taste. I will be keeping this recipe in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg717

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
It's a good cake, but I did take the advice of other reviewers by adding cinnamon and doubling the vanilla in the batter. I also like brown sugar instead of white for added flavor. A singe batch of topping would be too light for us, but doubling made too much, maybe just 1.5 next time. It was very tasty and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I was one of those thousands who enjoyed this as a sophomore at the Asheville campus. We'd take a big slice of this cake, set it in a cereal bowl and pour in some milk. Great way to start the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This caught my eye as I live in Columbia and have many friends who graduated from Ben Lippen. The coffee cake itself is indeed moist and delicious, however it is not something I would INSIST you try at some time in your life, it didn't change my life or anything but never-the-less, if you are looking for a good coffee cake recipe, look no further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bentgrimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I was looking for a simple coffee cake recipe, and found this one. It is easy, but I think adding a little more vanilla extract in the wet mixture would be better. For the crumb topping, I added some pecans. This really helped with the flavor. You can pretty much add anything to this recipe. I will make this again, only with improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Yummy and mild. Kids loved it. I used brown sugar for the topping instead of white and reduced the amount of butter to 1 T. to make it less gloppy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is a cake for simple tast people.. its quick easy and pritty much fool proof..however i think it is lacking in tast the crumbs are great but the actual tast needs more.. i think add more vanilla or cinnimin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BearFoot Contessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States