Ben Lippen School Coffee Cake (Mrs. Hathaway's recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Very good! This recipe peaked my interest as my dad attended the same high school. The cake lives up to its reputation--very moist after letting it set overnight. I used brown sugar instead of white in the crumb topping because of personal preference, and would suggest doubling the topping recipe if you like a lot of crumbs; it doesn't make a whole lot. Overall a very nice coffee cake and easy to make with ingredients everyone has on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hesston, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fairbury, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I accidentally added twice as much butter as I was supposed to, and didn't realize it until the next day. I was wondering why the cake was so moist! It was fabulous. Next time, I might not add so much butter -- maybe just a little extra for good measure. I also doubled the crumb topping, since my husband and I like it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! I found it on this site at least 4 years ago and it has become a family favorite! It is a simple classic and very "forgiving". I have 5 children home during the day and they gobble this up when I make it. It is a good "standby" esp when you are in a "pinch": short on time or short on ingredients. This has just a few simple ingredients that most of us always have on hand. It does make quite a "small" coffee cake so I usually double it or at least 1 1/2 times the recipe. By "forgiving" I mean you can be pretty creative with this recipe and still come out with a simple delicious breakfast or snack cake. I have substituted oat flour, or ground flax meal for part of the flour. I have added a dab of sour cream to make it more rich. I have added sugar cinnamon to the batter. I have added nuts. I get creative w/ whatever I happen to have on hand. We almost always double the topping too. I think you could add a little apple sauce or pumpkin puree to this recipe for variation. It is just a great BASIC coffee cake and I love the history behind it. I know nothing about the Ben Lippen school but when I make this recipe I always get curious to know more about it. We had this coffee cake for breakfast this morning. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is a wonderful coffee cake recipe, very moist! I already had a favorite coffee cake recipe, but I couldn't resist trying this because of the history of it. I am glad that I did. It is quick and easy and uses basic ingredients that most of us already have in our cupboards and refrigerator. I reduced the oven temperature to 350 (375 seems too hot for such a small cake) and baked for the recommended time of 25 minutes. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon to the batter. I also topped the cake with a glaze made from powder sugar, almond extract, and a little bit of milk. No need to cool the cake before topping with glaze since there is no butter in it. This has earned a page in my favorite recipes collection! Thank you for sharing such a special recipe and the history of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I went to Ben Lippen for 4 years and had this coffee cake every Thursday! (if memory serves me right!) Love it and love Mrs. Hathaway!!! We always ate it in a bowl with milk poured over it! My kids to this day eat their coffeecake that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allendale, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is the most moist and delicious coffee cake I have ever tasted. I made the recipe as written with the exception of subbing 1 3/4 c of spelt flour for the all purpose stated. I also doubled the topping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Outstanding! The other review talk about it being a bit bland, but that works for my kids. I did double the topping and used brown sugar just because it's a family favorite . . . just like this recipe will be. Thank you very much for posting a coffee cake that I have all the ingredients IN THE CUPBOARD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I was one of those thousands who enjoyed this as a sophomore at the Asheville campus. We'd take a big slice of this cake, set it in a cereal bowl and pour in some milk. Great way to start the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly, except I added a few tablespoons of brown sugar to the topping so it would cover the cake a bit better. Very delish... it ended up being the best coffee cake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaShel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Excellent, I used whole wheat flour and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States