Ben Lippen School Coffee Cake (Mrs. Hathaway's recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Very good! This recipe peaked my interest as my dad attended the same high school. The cake lives up to its reputation--very moist after letting it set overnight. I used brown sugar instead of white in the crumb topping because of personal preference, and would suggest doubling the topping recipe if you like a lot of crumbs; it doesn't make a whole lot. Overall a very nice coffee cake and easy to make with ingredients everyone has on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hesston, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fairbury, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This was just okay ... given all the coffee cake recipes I have made or have yet to try, I wouldn't do this one again. I used brown sugar for the topping. There just isn't anything in this to elevate it above two stars. The ingredients are similar to a sour cream coffee cake without the sour cream, so perhaps that's why I found it a bit on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I accidentally added twice as much butter as I was supposed to, and didn't realize it until the next day. I was wondering why the cake was so moist! It was fabulous. Next time, I might not add so much butter -- maybe just a little extra for good measure. I also doubled the crumb topping, since my husband and I like it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Pretty good. I doubled the topping as advised by other reviewers. It was too much topping, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Outstanding! The other review talk about it being a bit bland, but that works for my kids. I did double the topping and used brown sugar just because it's a family favorite . . . just like this recipe will be. Thank you very much for posting a coffee cake that I have all the ingredients IN THE CUPBOARD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Yummy crumb cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was quick and easy to put together for breakfast with ingredients I already had on hand. My whole family loved it so much, it was gone by the afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! I found it on this site at least 4 years ago and it has become a family favorite! It is a simple classic and very "forgiving". I have 5 children home during the day and they gobble this up when I make it. It is a good "standby" esp when you are in a "pinch": short on time or short on ingredients. This has just a few simple ingredients that most of us always have on hand. It does make quite a "small" coffee cake so I usually double it or at least 1 1/2 times the recipe. By "forgiving" I mean you can be pretty creative with this recipe and still come out with a simple delicious breakfast or snack cake. I have substituted oat flour, or ground flax meal for part of the flour. I have added a dab of sour cream to make it more rich. I have added sugar cinnamon to the batter. I have added nuts. I get creative w/ whatever I happen to have on hand. We almost always double the topping too. I think you could add a little apple sauce or pumpkin puree to this recipe for variation. It is just a great BASIC coffee cake and I love the history behind it. I know nothing about the Ben Lippen school but when I make this recipe I always get curious to know more about it. We had this coffee cake for breakfast this morning. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I went to Ben Lippen for 4 years and had this coffee cake every Thursday! (if memory serves me right!) Love it and love Mrs. Hathaway!!! We always ate it in a bowl with milk poured over it! My kids to this day eat their coffeecake that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allendale, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is a wonderful coffee cake recipe, very moist! I already had a favorite coffee cake recipe, but I couldn't resist trying this because of the history of it. I am glad that I did. It is quick and easy and uses basic ingredients that most of us already have in our cupboards and refrigerator. I reduced the oven temperature to 350 (375 seems too hot for such a small cake) and baked for the recommended time of 25 minutes. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon to the batter. I also topped the cake with a glaze made from powder sugar, almond extract, and a little bit of milk. No need to cool the cake before topping with glaze since there is no butter in it. This has earned a page in my favorite recipes collection! Thank you for sharing such a special recipe and the history of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States