Ben Lippen School Coffee Cake (Mrs. Hathaway's recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This cake is just ok. I made it as is. As far as flavor goes the title says it all "school coffee cake." I recommend this only for its simplicity and bare cupboard ingredients. Definitely make your own version of this with different toppings. I wish mine had butterscotch chips and pecans, or almonds and dried cranberries. Lastly, the cake came out fine without greasing the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I don't bake much at all so of course i looked for a quick and easy recipe to satisfy my sweet tooth. This recipe is now my favorite dessert! I read some of the other reviews before i started and they were very helpful. I doubled the topping and watched my cooking time and it turned out perfect! Cant wait make this for my friends! O, and i wouldve never missed a day at this school! haha!Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was just OK. If I would have read the other reviews I would have changed the topping to brown sugar and doubled it. This was more cake-like than coffee cake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this for my family this morning and they loved it. It has very good texture and taste. I will be keeping this recipe in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg717

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
It's a good cake, but I did take the advice of other reviewers by adding cinnamon and doubling the vanilla in the batter. I also like brown sugar instead of white for added flavor. A singe batch of topping would be too light for us, but doubling made too much, maybe just 1.5 next time. It was very tasty and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I was one of those thousands who enjoyed this as a sophomore at the Asheville campus. We'd take a big slice of this cake, set it in a cereal bowl and pour in some milk. Great way to start the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This caught my eye as I live in Columbia and have many friends who graduated from Ben Lippen. The coffee cake itself is indeed moist and delicious, however it is not something I would INSIST you try at some time in your life, it didn't change my life or anything but never-the-less, if you are looking for a good coffee cake recipe, look no further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bentgrimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I was looking for a simple coffee cake recipe, and found this one. It is easy, but I think adding a little more vanilla extract in the wet mixture would be better. For the crumb topping, I added some pecans. This really helped with the flavor. You can pretty much add anything to this recipe. I will make this again, only with improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Yummy and mild. Kids loved it. I used brown sugar for the topping instead of white and reduced the amount of butter to 1 T. to make it less gloppy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is a cake for simple tast people.. its quick easy and pritty much fool proof..however i think it is lacking in tast the crumbs are great but the actual tast needs more.. i think add more vanilla or cinnimin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BearFoot Contessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States