Bellyful of Barbecued Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
First time we tried a BBQ dessert and it was a big hit. It is important to use just ripe bananas or they would be too difficult to work with. We might try cutting them into chunks next time and putting them on skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Pretty good. I used the stove top because we had already turned off the grill. I liked how the coating got crispy when it hit the ice cream. I may make this again, it was good - but didn't knock my socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
We made these when bbq'ing with friends (adults and kids). Not only were they fairly easy and absolutely delicious served hot over vanilla ice cream... but they were also a fun conversation piece because who has ever heard of grilled bananas?!? Because we'd read that this can get messy, we left the banana in the peel and cut it in half lengthwise. We put the sugar/cinn mixture on the cut side only. Grilled it first on the peeling side until the banana was soft and the topping was melted. We flipped it over and cooked the cut side briefly just to leave grill marks. (yes.. that part is a bit messy.) Do not use overripe bananas; the texture is "off." Use barely ripe because they are firm and easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Great recipe! My wife and I love it. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was awesome! I fried them in a pan, and they turned quite mushy. I can't imagine how they would stay firm on a bbq?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Wow..!! This was amazing. Zen-like. I wasn't too sure what to think at first, but I gave it a try and it was to die for! Certainly messy though! I sprinkled the sugar and cinnamon over the bananas after the lemon on a plate instead of rolling them in the mix. This resulted in a caramel goo that was then delicious poured on top of the vanilla ice-cream! I also sprinkled a dash of cinnamon and chopped pecans (or walnuts would be good) on top as well, which gave a delicious crunch! I think next time I might try this on BBQ broiler pans as the goo on the grill is hard to clean off and prone to catching fire...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Extremely simple and delicious. I used slightly under ripe bananas so that they would be a little more manageable on the grill. The sugar mixtures sweetens them adequately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This tastes great. My wife always asks me to make these after our grilled dinners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This was pretty darn good. We weren't too sure about it at first - but it's tasty, and goes great with the vanilla ice cream. I cooked mine in a skillet with some butter. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDI7920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I cooked it on the stove and had it over some left- over chocolate cake with ice cream and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States