Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Delicious! I made them just as the recipe states except I made the dough in my breadmaker and I started with 4 1/2 cups flour and then added more as needed. I also used half AP flour and the other half bread flour only because that is what I had on hand. I will never use store bought hamburger buns again- these were great and a huge hit with my family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I was planning on making sliders for company that was coming over, and naturally the one time that I needed them, I couldn't find any slider buns at the store. So I decided to give this recipe a try. Fortunately, I was smart enough to read the other reviews. To echo what others have said, yes, 5 1/2 cups is waaaaaay to much flour. In my case, I stopped at 4 3/4 cups, and in retrospect, I probably could have used even less. I left the rest of the recipe unchanged, and they came out very nicely. More than one person asked me where I got the buns, and couldn't get enough of them. For the tl;dr crowd, here's my quick notes. Stop adding flour when the dough is sticky, but not so much that you can't handle it. You'll be happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAKERDANH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These buns are great! They are dense enough to hold up to a messy pulled pork sandwich without falling apart. Yet they don't taste too dense or heavy. I altered the recipe slightly. I proofed the yeast in my mixing bowl using 1/4 cup of water and 1 tsp sugar. I boiled the remaining water, sugar and milk while the yeast was proofing. Once it cooled enough, I added the milk mixture to the yeast. I then added the flour just until the dough didn't look 'wet' anymore (about 4-4.5 cups). After baking, I covered the buns with a damp dish cloth to keep them soft (I don't like crusty hamburger buns). Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious!! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, and brown sugar instead of white. My husband said we're never buying hamburger buns again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Just made these wonderful little buns! Although I have baked a lot of bread, I've never done buns. They were easy to make and very tasty. I loved the texture. They are a little denser than store bought buns but I'm making my own because I hate the ones in the store! Perfect and will use again and again. I did let the yeast bloom in the lukewarm milk/water mixture instead of putting it in the flour. I also started with less flour and added as needed. I think this helped keep them from getting 'dense'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Just THE perfect recipe ! Thank you so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I made half the recipe using my bread machine, and they were excellent! At first I thought the outer crust would be too tough, not at all! Good flavor, perfect consistancy for bugers. I'm going to make sure to save this one, it is now my go to for hamburger buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Too much flour, the rolls were way too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dalton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These buns were amazing! I am not a bread maker, every time I attempt to make bread it just does not turn out. I made these buns today and they turned out very nicely. I am so proud of my little buns!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
DELICIOUS!!! this is the best roll recipe i have found i did half the recipe an it was great they are so light an fluffy love them thank you so much for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States