Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Careful when adding flour, I ended up needing only 4 cups to make the perfect dough. I added only 1 tsp of salt because I used salted butter. I brushed the tops with milk since I heard it makes them soft, not crispy on top. I thought the recipe failed because they came out of the oven almost rock hard, but softened up immensely as they cooled. I baked them to use for sandwiches for my husbands lunches so as soon as they cooled, I grabbed the funniest looking one and made a sandwich to taste test. It was delicious! I thought it was the perfect mixture of softness/chewiness and the taste was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I'm new to yeast, but i usually dissolve the yeast first. I can see the yeast in the mixture. Also, the dough isn't rising at all. Not sure how they will bake. Not impressed so far. Update: did not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Awesome!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2COOK29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
These were okay but very heavy. I'm a pretty experience bread baker and just felt the crumb and texture to be a little dense for me. Thank you, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I had a lot of fun making these and was very excited to use them for my chicken sandwiches. They were beautiful to look at but a little too hard and chewy for my taste. I might try to make them again and do as another reviewer suggested and brush them with milk instead of the egg yolk to see if that makes them softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
The recipe in of it's self was wonderful. I got the exact results I wanted. Nice fluffy hamburger buns. The only down side was the next day the left over went stale fast. So yes I recommend this, just be sure to eat them all on the day they are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
These Buns was just the right texture with a very nice flavor. Not just for hamburger. My hubby like them as well. you can add sesame seeds, mince onion, or garlic butter on them. or you can go the sweet route with honey or jam with or without butter yum! I will make these again. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I am very pleased with this recipe. Will be making these buns from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Ramirez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
These were so good. I used my bread machine, set on the dough cycle, to make these. I halved the recipe to make 6 hamburger buns. The only problem was using half an egg. I beat the egg in a measuring cup and poured half in the machine and used the rest to brush on buns after the 30 min rise. Can't wait to make these again. UPDATE! I went to make these again and actually read the recipe instead of dumping everything in the bread machine. Realized that the egg was intended for egg wash and not to be added to the recipe. Well the buns were so good the way I made them the first time.....I added half the egg again this time. I don't know if that made any difference or not, but they were still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly as written and the buns turned out great! The problem with other recipes I have tried in the past was always that the buns ended up way too thick and the burger to bun ratio was not very good. These were absolutely perfect for the homemade burger patties I made. Will be using this recipe from now on. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States