Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Turned out fantastic--subbed a handful of wheat flour and didn't press them flatter due to sluggish yeast; baked in 13 x 9 glass pans w/melted butter on top... didn't take very long to raise either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Excellent flavor and easy to make! I'm usually not very successful when it comes to yeast breads, but this one turned out perfectly. I added sesame seeds, granulated onion and garlic and a pinch of kosher salt to the tops of each bun and WOW! An explosion of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
These were fantastic! My husband says we will never buy store bought buns again. I did change one thing that did speed up the prep time some. I did not boil the milk. Instead I added it after the rest of the liquid mix has come to a boil. This brought it to a workable temp right away. Also, the first raise only took about 50 minutes in a warm oven but I had to let the formed buns raise 30 minutes. The texture is slightly heavier than store bought but that makes them hold up much better to grilling or toasting. Perfect for a juicy sandwich because the bun does not get soggy. Great recipe LemonLush. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ & Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Fast easy and very tasty. I ran out of all purpose flour and put 3 cups whole wheat and they still came out fluffy and soft. I put sesame seeds on top and wow do they look good. I tried to make hot dog buns but they were to low and wide instead of raising up as the hamburger buns. Will do again for hamburger buns forsure!!!!! Much cheaper and taster and healther than store bought. Thank you LemonLush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I make these breakfast rolls, by putting the desired filling in after the first rise. Then put them on a baking sheet, and freeze. Take them out an hour or so before you need to cook them and let them finish rising for the last time. Then bake.I also add a little extra yeast when I am doing this. I work shift work, and it is hard to keep a family fed. Sometimes when I have a few days off, I will make up a batch with pizza like fillings , or a bunch of different cheeses . The field is wide open.And the beauty of it is, the six youngsters can take them out and cook them themselves. Of course, you run the risk of a teen age party making a run on them when you are there, but that is OK, it is good nourishing food, and I know where they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made these for the first time on Monday. Great simple recipe. I didn't make them large enough so we had sliders, but nonetheless they were great. I used the leftovers to make french toast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
worth the work! I ended up using about a cup less flour than called for - I put the yeast in the warm liquid and added flour a cup at a time. Make sure you don't let it rise longer than 1 hour before splitting up the dough into buns, otherwise your buns are a little flat, but still flakey on the inside and chewy outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Morin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
everybody loved them!! and they held the hamburgers perfectly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I followed the recipe exceptly except I used buttermilk (I had some leftover) and the buns were as advertised. I would flatten them a little more before baking, but they are fantastic. I used carroway seeds on the top and the aroma in this house is overwhelming. This will be my go-to hamburger bun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nogales, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I don't get the high reviews on this! I did everything right and they turned out just kind of dense and tasted like basic flour, water, yeasty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States