Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
These buns are great! They came out heavier than I thought but everyone loved them. The crust was crunchy but the inside was chewy. These buns would also be good for deli style sandwiches. They were real easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Made these for a bbq and everyone loved them, much better than store bought and worth the work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seabeck, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
My granddaughter and I made these for our BBQ yesterday - Excellent! We made them the night before and doubled the recipe.....these really hold up great to hamburgers with lots of toppings. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Harder on outside & chewier on inside than regular buns but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I too added a bit of wheat flour. they came out a bit dense but I rushed the rise. Overall just fine for my family and I. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Back2Basicsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Turned out fantastic--subbed a handful of wheat flour and didn't press them flatter due to sluggish yeast; baked in 13 x 9 glass pans w/melted butter on top... didn't take very long to raise either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Excellent flavor and easy to make! I'm usually not very successful when it comes to yeast breads, but this one turned out perfectly. I added sesame seeds, granulated onion and garlic and a pinch of kosher salt to the tops of each bun and WOW! An explosion of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
These were fantastic! My husband says we will never buy store bought buns again. I did change one thing that did speed up the prep time some. I did not boil the milk. Instead I added it after the rest of the liquid mix has come to a boil. This brought it to a workable temp right away. Also, the first raise only took about 50 minutes in a warm oven but I had to let the formed buns raise 30 minutes. The texture is slightly heavier than store bought but that makes them hold up much better to grilling or toasting. Perfect for a juicy sandwich because the bun does not get soggy. Great recipe LemonLush. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ & Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Fast easy and very tasty. I ran out of all purpose flour and put 3 cups whole wheat and they still came out fluffy and soft. I put sesame seeds on top and wow do they look good. I tried to make hot dog buns but they were to low and wide instead of raising up as the hamburger buns. Will do again for hamburger buns forsure!!!!! Much cheaper and taster and healther than store bought. Thank you LemonLush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I make these breakfast rolls, by putting the desired filling in after the first rise. Then put them on a baking sheet, and freeze. Take them out an hour or so before you need to cook them and let them finish rising for the last time. Then bake.I also add a little extra yeast when I am doing this. I work shift work, and it is hard to keep a family fed. Sometimes when I have a few days off, I will make up a batch with pizza like fillings , or a bunch of different cheeses . The field is wide open.And the beauty of it is, the six youngsters can take them out and cook them themselves. Of course, you run the risk of a teen age party making a run on them when you are there, but that is OK, it is good nourishing food, and I know where they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States