Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Maybe I just did something wrong with this recipe. They turned out very dry and not much taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
these are the best hamburger buns I've ever had. I will make them again! and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Made these twice now using bread machine. Turned out wonderful each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Flavor was descent. Too dense in my opinion and I proofed the yeast before hand. This was basically a large, ok tasting, dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
A bit bland, I didn't have good luck with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These were easy and very good. I found I didn't need all the flour called for, so perhaps those who are having trouble would benefit from just adding it as needed instead of dumping it in all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I'm new to the world of bread baking, and this was my first attempt at making hamburger buns. I topped some with sesame seeds, a few with dried minced onion, and left a couple plain. I didn't flatten them at all, and that's something I would do in the future. They ended up looking more like a dinner roll rather than a hamburger bun. Although they look very nice, they're not the texture I was looking for in a hamburger bun, too dense/doughy, but that well could have been my lack of yeast bread baking experience. I'm planning to try this again using less flour to see if that will help lighten the texture. Still pretty tasty. UPDATE 9/3/11: Made again today starting with 4 cups of flour and added about another 1/2 to 3/4 cup of flour while kneading in the KA. I also think I over-kneaded the dough yesterday, so today I kneaded just until the dough started pulling away from the sides of the bowl. I made 12 good-sized balls which when slightly flattened turned out absolutely perfectly for a 1/3 lb burger (and they LOOKED like hamburger buns). Many reviewers made the comment about the buns being heavy, and based on how these buns turned out today, I think this recipe calls for too much flour. The texture was MUCH IMPROVED over what I made yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made these last night for the first time and got great reviews. The only thing I might change is save the 1/2 cup of flour for kneading. I kneaded mine until the dough was elastic and smooth like my bread dough I make, which is about 4 mins or so. I thought the 10 mins. was a little long. They came out great and will use this recipe all the time. I used them for zesty slow cooker barbecue chicken and they were a hit! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Great after making this a few times and tweaking it a bit. To streamline the process, in step #1 I do not add the water to the saucepan and I only heat it until the butter melts - boiling it is unnecessary. Then I add the water. Otherwise you are sitting around wasting time waiting for the mixture to become lukewarm. I probably had to add another 1/2-1 cup of flour as I kneaded the dough (it is humid where I live, so my flour was not quite as dry as it usually is). After shaping the buns, I let them sit about 35-40 minutes until they had risen some. 20 minutes is not quite long enough. Skipped the egg wash and didn't feel like the buns needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Too hard. Did not enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States