Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I had a lot of fun making these and was very excited to use them for my chicken sandwiches. They were beautiful to look at but a little too hard and chewy for my taste. I might try to make them again and do as another reviewer suggested and brush them with milk instead of the egg yolk to see if that makes them softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
The recipe in of it's self was wonderful. I got the exact results I wanted. Nice fluffy hamburger buns. The only down side was the next day the left over went stale fast. So yes I recommend this, just be sure to eat them all on the day they are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
These Buns was just the right texture with a very nice flavor. Not just for hamburger. My hubby like them as well. you can add sesame seeds, mince onion, or garlic butter on them. or you can go the sweet route with honey or jam with or without butter yum! I will make these again. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I am very pleased with this recipe. Will be making these buns from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
These were so good. I used my bread machine, set on the dough cycle, to make these. I halved the recipe to make 6 hamburger buns. The only problem was using half an egg. I beat the egg in a measuring cup and poured half in the machine and used the rest to brush on buns after the 30 min rise. Can't wait to make these again. UPDATE! I went to make these again and actually read the recipe instead of dumping everything in the bread machine. Realized that the egg was intended for egg wash and not to be added to the recipe. Well the buns were so good the way I made them the first time.....I added half the egg again this time. I don't know if that made any difference or not, but they were still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly as written and the buns turned out great! The problem with other recipes I have tried in the past was always that the buns ended up way too thick and the burger to bun ratio was not very good. These were absolutely perfect for the homemade burger patties I made. Will be using this recipe from now on. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
These are really good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made them today and they turned out fabulous. I only used 4 1/2 cups flour. After reading a few reviews I decided to only do half in the egg wash as there was some concern about them being too crispy. I actually found my egg wash ones to be softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
These were so good! I made them because I didn't have any hamburger buns on hand. I only need 3 so I figured I would just freeze the rest when they cooled. Needless to say they never made it to the freezer. My family snacking on them. I did add some sesame seeds to the top of these and kneaded the dough through 2 risings in my bread machine. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I will never buy store bought hamburger buns again. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSandi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These were alright if you are looking for a dinner roll, but didn't work out for our veggie burgers. They turned out to be too dense and we ate them with butter instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States