Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Due to poor reviews on the other hamburger bun recipes I tried this one which had NO ratings. I liked it. The buns turned out perfect & I even made sandwich rolls (like hoagie). The consistency of this finished product made a perfect (not soggy or mushy) hamburger bun. It is important for all cooks to know, when you work with yeast it is important to read on the jar/package the manufacturers recommendations for liquid temperatures. I learned that because I was adding liquid to the yeast/flour mixture I could put in the liquid when it registered 120-130 degrees. It probably wouldn't have risen had I not read the instructions on the yeast pkg first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYCAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I divided the silky dough into 8 large buns. All the family enjoyed them, with the soft crust and chewy, soft crumb. The buns were a little thick for our tenderloin sandwiches, but would be perfect for hamburgers or cold cuts. The next day, the leftovers were great warmed with jam, too. I make bread quite often and intend on adding this to the favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LPHILLIPS9
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Nice texture and very forgiving...My 3yo and I made these to hold bbq filling this weekend and everyone loved them. I used the exact ingredients, but mixed them up as we usually do. I let my daughter roll and pat the dough until they were almost flat..but they still rose beautifully. I did end up tossing on some minced onion and poppy seeds which gave "Tay-Tay's buns" some extra flavor...Thanks Belle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Because I had run out of AP flour, I used whole wheat. I replaced the sugar with honey and only because this is how I'm used to making bread, I proofed my yeast by adding the warm liquid to it. Once bubbly, I then added my dry ingredients. After the egg wash, I sprinkled on some sesame seeds. My family raved over these buns, including my hubby who is not a bread person! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
No problems. Recipe worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Wonderful buns. I make them up and keep on hand in the freezer. So much better and healthier than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe, very easy & made very good buns. After I brushed the tops with the egg/water mixture I put sesame seed on top. Will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Easy? Yes, with a dough hook on a stand mixer. Tasty? Yes, though I had trouble getting the top to brown and the bottom not to burn, even after following the instructions regarding the oven racks. Also, my buns were sort of flat and slightly dense but I've never been one to have luck with yeast breads. I might try this recipe again, as the imperfections could be my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I made these today followed the recipe to the -T-. I really appreciated the easy to follow directions she gave. It helped me so much. I have been trying all the recipes on here and so far these have turned out the best for me. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States