Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Tasted great. Didn't think they were dense. I did use half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose flour. I scaled the dough to 3 1/2 ounces and it made 13 buns. They were perfect for sloppy joes. If I use this recipe for actual hamburgers (boca patties), I would probably scale them to 4 1/2 ounces. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Once the water/milk/butter mixture came down to 110 degrees I added the yeast and let it bloom for about 10 minutes. I added **ONLY 3 CUPS of FLOUR** to the wet ingredients, kneaded for 10 minutes and rested the dough on a wire rack over a pot of hot water. Wonderful results. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is the best bun recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Kruse
Home Town: Herman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
WEIGH the flour! Reviews that state the bread is too dense may have a flour measuring issue. A cup of flour is not always a "cup". If you dip the cup in the flour you may actually pack it. If you dip the scoop in the container then pour it in the cup & level the cup you don't always get the same amount in each scoop and you get air pockets in the cup. The best way is to get a scale and figure how many grams are in a cup of flour. Don't be so quick to keep adding flour. If you think the dough appears wet, give it a moment. It is tempting to add a lot of flour and before you know it tough bread. This bread is really good! I make it a lot. I make it for sandwiches as well as for meatball sub-rolls. Another tip: keep that thermometer! I am at sea-level so my bread is "done" at 212 degrees. You should know at what temperature your bread is considered "done" or when to pull it out of the oven. I like to have a very crispy crust when doing the sub rolls so I turn the oven off when done, open the oven door and leave the rolls in the oven to cool. If all else fails, you can get a bread machine. I'm not talking expensive. You can get one for ~$50 just to make dough. It can be gentler to the dough and you can still shape it and bake it in the oven. But no matter what you do, please do yourself the greatest of favors and buy a nice digital scale and weigh that flour. This recipe is really good and you should have the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Do you like the hamburger buns offered in the bar of your favorite special occasion restaurant? You know, the kind of burger that costs $12, before the side of fries? TRY THIS RECIPE!!! If kneading by hand, you will be looking for a very smooth, silky dough. When I made these, I used the egg wash, but once out of the oven, immediately put them into a clean, open plastic bag, so the crust could lightly steam, and make it a bit softer. I have done this in the past as a professional baker, except there it was on large standing racks with a bag that went over the whole rack! ^_^ I put coarse salt on top of the egg wash, but we enjoy a salty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made these for the first time for a 4th of July get together. My brother the "grill master" made the most awesome hamburgers. He is so picky, however, he won't eat store bought buns again. So now every time we grill burgers he insists I make them. I, like other bakers, Topped the buns with onion, sesame seeds and poppy seeds. I also shape some into hot dog buns. We use the left overs for sandwiches. Thank you Belle. This is a wonderful recipe. I have the dough in my bread maker as I write for turkey burgers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Incredibly good dough recipe. I've taken this and used it a number of ways (smaller rolls/twists are a great replacement for the canned biscuits). Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugeTaste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
the first try, i made these with whole wheat flour, epic fail!! second time, i dont think they rose enough, so next time i will bloom the yeast in the wet ingredients, and then add the flour. they were dense, and the crust was crunchy. someone said they topped them off with steak seasoning great idea! next time, i will try the less flour suggestion and see which i like better. and i will also cut it down the 8 buns, we like a BIG burger here. but these turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These were just OK. Still looking for the perfect hamburger bun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These were fabulous! Quick and easy to make, and very light and fluffy. My family was really impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States