Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Do you like the hamburger buns offered in the bar of your favorite special occasion restaurant? You know, the kind of burger that costs $12, before the side of fries? TRY THIS RECIPE!!! If kneading by hand, you will be looking for a very smooth, silky dough. When I made these, I used the egg wash, but once out of the oven, immediately put them into a clean, open plastic bag, so the crust could lightly steam, and make it a bit softer. I have done this in the past as a professional baker, except there it was on large standing racks with a bag that went over the whole rack! ^_^ I put coarse salt on top of the egg wash, but we enjoy a salty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made these for the first time for a 4th of July get together. My brother the "grill master" made the most awesome hamburgers. He is so picky, however, he won't eat store bought buns again. So now every time we grill burgers he insists I make them. I, like other bakers, Topped the buns with onion, sesame seeds and poppy seeds. I also shape some into hot dog buns. We use the left overs for sandwiches. Thank you Belle. This is a wonderful recipe. I have the dough in my bread maker as I write for turkey burgers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Incredibly good dough recipe. I've taken this and used it a number of ways (smaller rolls/twists are a great replacement for the canned biscuits). Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugeTaste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
the first try, i made these with whole wheat flour, epic fail!! second time, i dont think they rose enough, so next time i will bloom the yeast in the wet ingredients, and then add the flour. they were dense, and the crust was crunchy. someone said they topped them off with steak seasoning great idea! next time, i will try the less flour suggestion and see which i like better. and i will also cut it down the 8 buns, we like a BIG burger here. but these turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These were just OK. Still looking for the perfect hamburger bun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These were fabulous! Quick and easy to make, and very light and fluffy. My family was really impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Great buns, they are delicious and will be making them everytime we are in need of hamburger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Made these to go with sloppy joes. So yummy and easy. I might never buy buns again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Excellent! I can see making miniatures for mini hamburgers, but a full sized bun has enough density to support a 1/3 lb hamburger. I'd love to try with sesame seeds next time. I will definitely make these again. Update: I made this dough in my Zojirushi breadmaker ... so easy, and just as good. Made them a little larger and flattened a little more .. perfect hamburger buns. As another reviewer pointed out, humidity can slightly affect the ratio of water to flour, and there's a little bit of a learning curve in recognizing when the dough is just right. But really, it's not too difficult so do try this recipe for buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Delicious. Using a golf sized roll of dough made buns that were good for small burgers. If I am using pre-formed burgers I'll definitely use more dough for each roll. But the bread is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States