Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Love this recipe. Very easy. I used 3 c stone ground wheat flour and the rest white, proofed my yeast in some of the warm liquid. Ate 2 of the buns right out of the oven! Following day, a little heavy on texture, but still light. Will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Awesome! Store bought are now a thing of the past in my house! They freeze well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
These hamburger buns are amazing!! Followed the recipe exactly! My family loved them! I took them to my bible study luncheon and they disappeared fast!! Will make these more often, may not by buns ever again!! Great recipe thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is the best bun recipe I've ever tried. It's now my go-to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Worthington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I'm so excited, I finally found a recipe for bread that I can make, it was easy to do and came out great! No more wierd preservatives in my bread from now on! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Delicious! I made them just as the recipe states except I made the dough in my breadmaker and I started with 4 1/2 cups flour and then added more as needed. I also used half AP flour and the other half bread flour only because that is what I had on hand. I will never use store bought hamburger buns again- these were great and a huge hit with my family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I was planning on making sliders for company that was coming over, and naturally the one time that I needed them, I couldn't find any slider buns at the store. So I decided to give this recipe a try. Fortunately, I was smart enough to read the other reviews. To echo what others have said, yes, 5 1/2 cups is waaaaaay to much flour. In my case, I stopped at 4 3/4 cups, and in retrospect, I probably could have used even less. I left the rest of the recipe unchanged, and they came out very nicely. More than one person asked me where I got the buns, and couldn't get enough of them. For the tl;dr crowd, here's my quick notes. Stop adding flour when the dough is sticky, but not so much that you can't handle it. You'll be happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAKERDANH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These buns are great! They are dense enough to hold up to a messy pulled pork sandwich without falling apart. Yet they don't taste too dense or heavy. I altered the recipe slightly. I proofed the yeast in my mixing bowl using 1/4 cup of water and 1 tsp sugar. I boiled the remaining water, sugar and milk while the yeast was proofing. Once it cooled enough, I added the milk mixture to the yeast. I then added the flour just until the dough didn't look 'wet' anymore (about 4-4.5 cups). After baking, I covered the buns with a damp dish cloth to keep them soft (I don't like crusty hamburger buns). Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious!! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, and brown sugar instead of white. My husband said we're never buying hamburger buns again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Just made these wonderful little buns! Although I have baked a lot of bread, I've never done buns. They were easy to make and very tasty. I loved the texture. They are a little denser than store bought buns but I'm making my own because I hate the ones in the store! Perfect and will use again and again. I did let the yeast bloom in the lukewarm milk/water mixture instead of putting it in the flour. I also started with less flour and added as needed. I think this helped keep them from getting 'dense'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States