Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I really like these rolls. I have a hard time flattening them as much as I would like for a sandwich bun, but that is probably my error. They are still very yummy. I've made these 3 times and each time I've halved the recipe. With a halved recipe, I had to use a little more than the 2-3/4 cups flour (no more the 1/2 cup more, but I don' t really know because I added a little at a time until the dough picked up the pool on the bottom of the bowl). With each halved recipe, I still end up with 12 smallish buns (not too small, though!). These are super fast and super easy and I know I will continue to use this recipe. There are some rolls in the oven as I type :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Everyone LOVED these buns. Very easy to make and quick. Will make them again and again. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinder98
Living In: Edinburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I used a mixture of WW flour, AP flour and bread flour and I like the result. Simple to make and fluffy indeed. I might have to stop buying hamburger buns now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by LolaMama
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Fantastic! These were a hit with all 3 kids and the hubby. They took our burgers to a whole new level. I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Instead of the egg yolk wash, I should have melted butter and brushed across the top. The egg yolk made it way to dark on the top before it was through baking! I used a baking stone and it worked very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heidib444
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Easy recipe - delicious. I added the sugar/water/yeast and let it sit for a few minutes. Then added it with the butter and milk to the flour and salt. Kneaded for about 5 minutes. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Awesome family loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Ok, I messed these up. I read through the recipe but when I was mixing the dough, I added the egg yolk. I finished them anyway, and they have a fantastic texture - they're not too doughy or too airy. But, they are super-duper bland, and except for messing up with the egg, I followed the recipe exactly. I'm going to make them again, because I really liked this recipe. I'll edit my review then, to make sure that it was me who made them bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate and John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I have to agree that there is way too much flour called for in this recipe. They came out very thick and heavy like biscuits rather than buns. They would make good dinner biscuits, but I would not make these again as hamburger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I don't know if I did something wrong but they came out hard on the outside and very dense and chewy on the inside, which could be a good thing if I was going for a French Baguette and not a soft hamburger bun. They also lacked any flavor what so ever. Sorry but I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States