Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Although, they rose well and appeared to have turned out well they seemed to be lacking in flavor and to be very dense. I ended up adding a couple small spoons of water to the mixer as the dough seemed very heavy to me. The directions were easy to follow, though I didn't understand why with the end product they were so hearty. I guess the texture of the dough should have been an indicator of that. The only thing I can think is that the buns at the stores and bakeries add dough conditioners which causes them to over rise and be super soft. Although, I thought they tasted more like a dense sub bread it was still better than buying store bought and not knowing what is in them. I would have just prefered a lighter bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Troy
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Great tasting buns! This puts a finishing touch to a great grilled hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Quanah, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Excellent! I used exactly what was called for except for I substituted bread yeast for the active dry. Turned out great and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
The taste was OK--it tasted a bit salty though. The recipe submitter said they are light and fluffy, but that's not how they turned out for me. They were kinda of hard from the outside and chewy from the inside like french bread. They were also too heavy for a hamburger or hot dog bun. The bread is thick and heavy that it steals the spotlight from the slice of meat or hot dog sausage you use. The bread fills you up before you reach the meat. Perhaps this recipe would be better to use for dinner rolls? Definitely not hamburger buns. Also, I wanted to add that you need way less flour than the recipe calls for. I almost used 4 cups. As soon as I mixed 3 cups of flour w/ the yeast mixture, the forming dough looked dry. The dough was easy to work with. Kneading the dough was the only light & fluffy thing in this recipe. Sorry. I may try again since I like to give some recipes a second chance. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaQueTeGusta
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Very heavy buns...not light and fluffy, but tasty enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These buns are amazing!! So moist and delicious! The only thing I changed was mixing it in my bread machine for 15 minutes and then unplugging and allowing to rise in the warm mixer for 30 minutes. My husband told me we can never go back to store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Amazing! Simple to make, and SO good! I didn't have an egg to use on top, so I sprinkle some water on top of them before placing them in the oven, and they turned out beautiful. I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I thought these were really good, but not quite up to five stars. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
These were perfect: soft but not too soft, a crispy exterior, and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States