Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These were easy to make and much better than store bought buns. I topped the buns with sesame seeds but it still felt like the bread was missing something in the flavor department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Great basic roll! Went well with the french dip I made. Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGURU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My buns only rose about half way, really not sure where I went wrong, as I followed recipe exactly. Maybe too much flour? They did have a good flavor but way,way too heavy of a texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Easy, soft & delicious! I toss the ingredients into the bread machine, split the dough into 12 buns and bake them on a stone. The bread machine does all the hard work and it takes less time than running to the grocery store to buy a bag of buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Turned out not to my liking. I can't figure out what I did wrong, I think I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
So let me first say that if you were to ONLY eat them the first day you make them, it would be a 5 star recipe! However, the very next day, the rolls were totally dried out, almost inedible, and would be a 1 star recipe. I make bread and rolls all the time, and I know not all homemade breads dry out so quickly. So, make these if you want to eat them right away, because they are delightful! I had NO trouble with the dough rising (maybe people weren't proofing correctly?), and the texture was not dense at all. They were light inside, but had enough texture to withstand holding in both hands like you do for a burger/sandwich and not getting squashed. The egg wash looked fabulous. I sprinkled sesame seeds on after the wash and it looked amazing. I would recommend refrigerating half of the dough before the second rise if you plan on having them another day, and baking them fresh right before eating. Note: I halved the recipe, and got 8 large buns. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly, letting my bread machine do the work, and baking for 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Great hamburger rolls, even better than the recipe I got from king arthur flour. I used potato water in place of regular water since I hear it helps with the texture of bread, I also used half an half in place of the milk. Finally I subbed some of the all purpose flour for whole wheat and bread flour. Perfection thank you. Ill be reviewing this recipe on my blog decupcakecriminal.blogspot.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
If you have the time to make them, these are worth the effort. I made 8 jumbo buns and they were absolutely delicious. I will definitely be baking these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Very dense buns :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Next time I'll use my tried and true bread recipe. I'm not quite sure where things went wrong. Wet mixture was at 110ºF, the usual lukewarm temp for water for yeast. But the dough was reluctant to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States