Belle's Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made these last night for the first time and got great reviews. The only thing I might change is save the 1/2 cup of flour for kneading. I kneaded mine until the dough was elastic and smooth like my bread dough I make, which is about 4 mins or so. I thought the 10 mins. was a little long. They came out great and will use this recipe all the time. I used them for zesty slow cooker barbecue chicken and they were a hit! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Great after making this a few times and tweaking it a bit. To streamline the process, in step #1 I do not add the water to the saucepan and I only heat it until the butter melts - boiling it is unnecessary. Then I add the water. Otherwise you are sitting around wasting time waiting for the mixture to become lukewarm. I probably had to add another 1/2-1 cup of flour as I kneaded the dough (it is humid where I live, so my flour was not quite as dry as it usually is). After shaping the buns, I let them sit about 35-40 minutes until they had risen some. 20 minutes is not quite long enough. Skipped the egg wash and didn't feel like the buns needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Too hard. Did not enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These were easy to make and much better than store bought buns. I topped the buns with sesame seeds but it still felt like the bread was missing something in the flavor department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Great basic roll! Went well with the french dip I made. Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGURU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My buns only rose about half way, really not sure where I went wrong, as I followed recipe exactly. Maybe too much flour? They did have a good flavor but way,way too heavy of a texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Easy, soft & delicious! I toss the ingredients into the bread machine, split the dough into 12 buns and bake them on a stone. The bread machine does all the hard work and it takes less time than running to the grocery store to buy a bag of buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Turned out not to my liking. I can't figure out what I did wrong, I think I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
So let me first say that if you were to ONLY eat them the first day you make them, it would be a 5 star recipe! However, the very next day, the rolls were totally dried out, almost inedible, and would be a 1 star recipe. I make bread and rolls all the time, and I know not all homemade breads dry out so quickly. So, make these if you want to eat them right away, because they are delightful! I had NO trouble with the dough rising (maybe people weren't proofing correctly?), and the texture was not dense at all. They were light inside, but had enough texture to withstand holding in both hands like you do for a burger/sandwich and not getting squashed. The egg wash looked fabulous. I sprinkled sesame seeds on after the wash and it looked amazing. I would recommend refrigerating half of the dough before the second rise if you plan on having them another day, and baking them fresh right before eating. Note: I halved the recipe, and got 8 large buns. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly, letting my bread machine do the work, and baking for 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Great hamburger rolls, even better than the recipe I got from king arthur flour. I used potato water in place of regular water since I hear it helps with the texture of bread, I also used half an half in place of the milk. Finally I subbed some of the all purpose flour for whole wheat and bread flour. Perfection thank you. Ill be reviewing this recipe on my blog decupcakecriminal.blogspot.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States