Belle's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Yummy! I used the mix of canned beans and can't wait to really do this one right. And by right I mean from scratch and some mods that I know would be outstanding to my taste! Spoiler alert below.... Can't be a 5 star cuz it's justa bean dish and the beauty of beans is their endless uses and mods, but def THANK the recipe here for a quick fixer AND reminder that bean dishes can be that simple! Because I had all these ingredients on hand, was in a pinch for "fancier" baked bean dish, and know my way around my kitchen, I prepped this dish is 5...6 minutes! Lol- *********yes, it's only a 3 star cuz I had to omit the majority of sugar! Just didn't see the purpose- love some of the other ides here in the ratings!!! Some of my mods- diced celery, carrots, jalapeños in with the mix, molasses vs some sugar, boost the BBQ sauce, more variation of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
These were very good but wayyyy too sweet for us. I added a couple can of plain beans to cut the sugar and that did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was good, but also very sweet, so I would omit the white sugar. I prepared a batch and a half of the recipe, but I did drain one of the cans of beans. The other 2 added enough liquid, besides the ketchup, bbq sauce, and Worcestershire sauce. I also substituted yellow prepared mustard for the mustard powder, and added 5 weiners, sliced (about a 1/2 a pound), after I lightly browned the sausage just a bit, then finished browning the sausage. I baked the bean mixture for exactly 50 minutes (uncovered). I will definitely make this dish again. After all, I have plenty of already seasoned ground pork sausage in the freezer to use up. This is a great side dish to serve at any potluck or famliy function. Thank you Maybelle Miller for posting this recipe. It's definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for...a simple and delicious canned baked beans doctored up a bit. Used bacon instead of sausage as that is a taste preference and I omitted the white sugar as the other reviewers recommended. Serving was perfect for the 6 guests I had over for BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was very easy to make (put in slowcooker for 5 hrs. on high), and it was quite good. I prefer sweet beans, that's why I chose this recipie. My dh's grandfather said over and over they were the best beans he's ever had. That's a pretty good compliment to the recipie. I have had better, so that's why it's a 4 for me. I'd make them again. I used a pound of turkey bacon instead of sausage...that was the only hard part, cooking all that bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I have been using this recipe for years and everyone loves it. I use lite sausage to cut down on the fat and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These were very good. I agree with most of the other reviewers though...I think the white sugar would have just made it way too sweet (which is the only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars). I did add the 1/2 cup of brown sugar though, and I think it has just the right amount of sweetness. I also added some fresh minced garlic and used spicy Italian sausage. I liked the combo of sweet with the heat. Thanks for the recipe...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I didn't add the white sugar because of other reviewers and I loved this recipe. The sausage is a must. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made this recipe as directed (omitting the white sugar), but there was something missing. So I used stone ground mustard and added some Texas Pete hot sauce to them for a bite and they came out perfect. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgreene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
So good. I brought this to a friend's barbecue tonight and it was a huge hit. I followed the recipe exactly except for the granulated sugar, which I left out. And I also increased the bake time to about an hour and a half. I'll make this many times before the summer's over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States