Bellepepper's Orzo and Wild Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
I've made this for several parties and now when I ask "what can I bring?", my friends' response is "that awesome rice salad!" My hubs loves it too, so I make a big batch and keep some home for him. Great with grilled chicken. I have substituted quinoa, in place of the pasta or rice, and it's a nice change occasionally, but the original recipe is the bomb! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I commute to work this was a easy 30 min meal. From the 3 bites I had to tastw it was very tasty & flavorful. I am excited for my lunch tomorrow. I added 1/4 cup of carrots & left over diced chicken. I used white vinegar & walnuts. I thought it was going to serve two or be small nope it made enough for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Bellepepper, I commend you for how well you've copied this dish. I, too, enjoy eating it at that well-known restaurant, and have re-created it myself. I've used your recipe to get the dressing just right. You're right, it's time consuming to do all that chopping, but it is well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
i liked this salad despite the mistake i made. i accidentally opened a can of artichokes instead of a can of wild rice. i added it anyway. i like to review these recipes as written; i think that is only fair to the author. i originally thought it was a little sweet, but after sitting overnite the flavor was much better. everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Made for Lauton's birthday, and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I get RAVE reviews every time I make this and never have leftovers as people take home as much as they can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Review originally posted July 2011 when the recipe was still a personal recipe: This salad is going on our family favourites list! I made the rice and orzo ahead of time then tossed everything but the nuts and parsley together a few hours before serving. Everyone then added the nuts and parsley to their individual servings because of personal tastes. I thought there would be lots left over but the salad was soooo good that there was barely enough for a serving for lunch for one. It is a great recipe for my vegetarian daughter. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe Bellepepper! Update June 9 2014- I've made this numerous times and always get requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was a great salad. I hate cooking orzo, so maybe I will try something else next time. I didn't have any white pepper or currants, so used dried cranberries and just went without the white pepper. It was not missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Good and different. I didn't use the wild rice the first time. It was too expensive for an experiment. It was good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Love it. Suggest using 1 c wild rice. I actually used a grain blend called Soo Foo, which is a little peppery so I skipped the pepper. Used champagne vinegar because I had no white balsalmic. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States