Belle and Chron's Spinach and Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I liked this recipe, but can't give it 5 stars because of all the changes I made. I made it into a crustless quiche and baked it in a 13x9 glass dish. I used 6 slices of bacon, 8 eggs, 1-1/2 cups light cream, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper, 2 pgk. (10 oz.)fresh baby spinach, steamed, 2 cups chopped mushrooms, sauteed in 2 Tbsp. bacon grease along with 1 cup onions. I used 1/2 pound of swiss cheese, which amounts to 2-1/4 cups (no cheddar). I saved 1/4 cup of the cheese to sprinkle on top. Mixed all ingredients together, baked at 375 for 35 minutes. I spent 45 minutes on prep time, plus the quiche needs to sit for about 10 minutes when it comes out of the oven. I couldn't see how I could mix raw spinach and raw mushrooms with the liquid, so cooked them lightly, and it worked out great. Sorry for the long review, but making these changes is the only way I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
The flavor was very good. I used packaged bacon bits to make it a little quicker and easier. The quiche was watery when I first cut it, and I had to drain off quite a bit of liquid. Also, the onion in it was crunchy (undercooked). I think you need to first saute the onions to soften/pre-cook them, possibly sauteing them with the mushrooms to exude the excess liquid from them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
My first quiche, and the best I've ever eaten! I took the reviewer's recommendation to use the leftover bacon grease to satuee, which really brought out good flavor. I didn't have a ready-made pie crust, so I made one myself, out of the 'Danish Pastry Apple Bars' recipe. (Just cut the dough ingredients in half, and there's your bottom pie crust! And I took the picture for that recipe there!!) I figured the apple pie crust would be just as delicious as a quiche pie crust, and I couldn't have been more right about that! Turned out FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clemson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Erfurt, Thüringen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I made this for my friends and I to have after a Girls' Night Out party. All of my friends agreed that it was great. They all wanted the recipe. I used baby portabella mushrooms, and I took others' advice and sauteed the onions and the mushrooms in a bit of the bacon grease before adding them into the egg mixture. Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was my first quiche. It came out great. I did however follow the advice of previous reviews and scaled back on the ingredients. (6 servings instead of 8) I used a 9" deep pie dish and it came out perfect, no oozing. Also sauted onions & mushrooms in a little bacon grease. Think next time I may add alittle more bacon, but overall this is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
So yummy! I made this for a friend's baby shower brunch. I used tart shells instead and baked them for 20 min. and they came out perfectly. I followed others' advice and sauteed the mushrooms and onions and added 1 clove garlic (minced) and also some garlic salt for added flavour. I didn't have bacon and so used 1 cup of chopped shrimp. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
This quiche was very yummy. I doubled the recipe and slow cooked it at 350 in a 13x9 pan. To remove the water from the mushrooms and soften up the onions, I sauteed them a little bit before adding to the eggs. The people at the party couldn't believe that this was my first quiche. I made it with a mashed potato crust (from another recipe here). I will definitely make this one again. Yum, Yum..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Delicous and easy to make! a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was awesome. I also followed the other reviewer’s advice and added one cup of light cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This quiche was amazing! I was happy to see the fresh spinach in the ingredients. I used the flaky pie crust recipe from Williams Sonoma's Baking Cookbook. Wondering if it might be a little better if the crust baked a little before adding the egg mixture - but it was still definitely a five star recipe. Thanks Belle and Chron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Clark’s Quiche

Bacon, ham, and three types of cheese make this quiche a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States