Belle and Chron's Spinach and Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very good. I made a few changes. Add 1 extra egg for a total of 5 eggs. Saute onions and mushrooms and wilt spinach before adding to egg mixture. Cook pie crusts before adding egg mixture. After you add egg mixture cover the exposed part of the crust with the foil to keep from burning. This recipe makes 2 9" deep dish quiches. The 2nd time I made it I used egg beaters to reduce calories and fat. I also left out bacon and added extra mushrooms and spinach. It was very good. I bake it the night before and reheat the whole quiche before serving for 20 minutes. It is actually better after re-heating than it is right after the 1st time you bake it. I made it for friends and they loved it. The 2nd time I made it just for me and I eat it every morning for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I used frozen spinach that I thawed and squeezed dry, fried the mushrooms in a little olive oil, doubled the recipe, and had enough filling for 3 deep dish 9" pies. Great recipe, my boyfriend can't get enough of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Amazing! Loved, loved, loved this! The only think I did different was I sauteed the onions first. Also, I used the crust recipe from the Danish Pastry Apple Bars recipe on this website. It's the most delicious crust I've ever had! I've always just used Pillsbury--easy and pretty good. But this crust is just to die for. The only thing I changed about the crust recipe was, instead of 1 cup shortening, I did 2/3 cup butter and 1/3 cup shortening. I baked the quiche in a tart pan, so it was gorgeous when I removed it from the rim. I will FOR SURE be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is the best quiche I have ever tasted. Modifications I made is I browned the bacon put it aside when done and used 1TB of bacon fat to saute onions, garlic, spinach and mushrooms. I used 5 eggs and 1C of heavy cream. I also made my pie crust with Crisco butter flavored shortening. This is one of my favorite dishes my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariag

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
My first attempt at quiche and it came out GREAT! I pre-baked a frozen pie crust for about 8 minutes to prevent sogginess. I advise covering the edges with foil b/c even though the end product wasn't burned the edges were overbaked. I used only 4 eggs instead of the 5 a lot of reviewers recommended, 3/4 cup half and half b/c I couldn't find "light" cream, and sauteed the onion and spinach in butter prior to mixing in as other reviewers did. I think this is crucial for a milder onion flavor and to bring out the flavor of the mushrooms. I used half a package of frozen chopped spinach instead of fresh because I'm just lazy! Drain/squeeze the spinach THOROUGHLY. I baked at 375 degrees for 35 minutes, added the last bit of cheese on top, then baked another 5 until it melted (I think it helped it cook faster). It was a very dense quiche but that is how I like it. Others may want 5 eggs for more "fluff." Will absolutely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I made some subtle changes. I used frozen spinach and after thawing it, I squeezed the water out of it. In addition, I followed other recommendations and used five eggs and ¾ cup of half-and-half. It was still a bit moist and took an additional 10 minutes to cook. I really enjoyed this recipe and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NarumKnits

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This quiche tastes great, but 35 minutes is nowhere near long enough to cook it! I cooked it for an hour and had to cover it with foil halfway through because it was browning too much. Great taste, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmtanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Easy to make, very tasty. Per other reviewers, I used 5 eggs and 1 cup half-and-half. Used a refrigerated "unroll it yourself" pie crust; put it all in a round 2 qt casserole dish, fit fine. I used all cheddar because that was what I had, but look forward to trying it with Swiss, too. Did need about 10 extra minutes cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I followed the exactly and the it did not set. It was real runny. It looked like it had way to much stuff for the store bought crust even the deep dish. It might have worked in a bigger pie dish or cutting the ingrediants. I am giving it two stars because my co workers said it tasted good anyway. I couldn't eat it. It looked way to bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This quiche was absolutely delicious! I omitted the bacon, used skim milk instead of half & half, and used only Swiss cheese. I did what some of the other reviewers suggested, I added one more egg and cut the liquid to 1 cup. The cooking time did take longer for me...after 35 minutes at 400 degrees it was still liquid in the center. I put foil over the quiche because the top was cooked, turned the oven down to 350 and baked it another 20 minutes. It was soooo yummy! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Clark’s Quiche

Bacon, ham, and three types of cheese make this quiche a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States