Belle and Chron's Spinach and Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very good flavor. I pre-cooked the onions & mushrooms in bacon fat as suggested. Five stars for flavor but had to knock it back a point due to bottom crust not cooking through and too many added components. I think I will try again with 6 eggs instead of four and put in a larger or deeper pie pan. Probably will also try either starting with a 425 oven and then knock back to 375, or I may bake the crust for ten minutes and then add filling and cook for the 30 minutes. Excellent flavor though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Wow. This quiche was fantastic. I made three for a baby shower I hosted yesterday & this was a complete hit. I feel it is a must to saute the onions, mushrooms, & spinach beforehand. Otherwise, I'm certain you will have a soggy quiche. Also, don't ever "wash" your mushrooms (with any recipe). They are little sponges that absorb water. Instead, just wipe the dirt off with a damp paper towel. I added some minced garlic to the mushroom mixture for added flavor. This kicked up Lorraine is the best quiche I have ever eaten and I'm proud to say I made it! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this quiche the night before Thanksgiving to have for breakfast on turkey day. I made a few changes. I used low-fat cheddar and Swiss cheese and 5 eggs, also used 1 cup of light cream and frozen spinach, I squeezed out the liquid. I don't like nutmeg or bacon so I omitted them and I added a little thyme to season for the holiday. As the kids woke up I heated a slice in microwave, it was a big hit. Everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Someone brought this quiche to a brunch and I immediately asked for the recipe. I loved the creamy texture of the quiche paired with the crisp crust. There's something about the blend of cream, eggs and cheeses that is superb. I happened to have smoked salmon on hand so I used that instead of bacon. My husband said it was the best quiche he's ever had easily. I agree with the other reviewers about the runny consistency when taken out of the oven and the onions and mushrooms might be considered underdone to some. Next time I'll saute the onions and mushrooms as suggested by other reviewers. This quiche is one of those dishes that is almost better the next day. We heated it up the next day and it had a firmer consistency and still had all the great flavours as the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Petersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This got rave reviews from the Hubbs who thought he didn't like Quiche! I used baby portobellos which added their unique flavor. I kinda doubled this because I needed to use up all the mushrooms I had on hand. I didn't have light cream, but Half and Half did the trick. I did cook the mushrooms, onion and spinach before putting it in the mixture. I suggest using more spinach. I used a whole 10oz bag. I put this in a 9x13 so it wasn't very pretty, but one that will definitely be cooked again. I toasted the pie crust a little bit before pouring the mixture in, just to make sure I didn't get the soggy effect. Also, after steaming the spinach and cooking the mushrooms, there was some liquid after they cooled (didn't want to scramble my eggs putting hot veggies in). I made sure to NOT put this liquid in the mixture since I read in a few other reviews that their Quiche ended up soggy. Not so with this one. Otherwise, fairly fool-proof and basic and good to add a little variety to the week-night menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
A HIT! I left out the bacon; used half milk and half cream instead of all cream; used all white cheddar and cremini mushrooms. Wonderful flavor. A little too much liquid though, I don't know what I did wrong or if using fresh spinach created too much liquid? Love it anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I've used this recipe at least a dozen times. My family loves it and always want more. This is my favorite quiche by far! As per other reviewers, I saute all the vegetables and reduce if it has too much liquid from the spinach. I add more egg, less spinach, and sometimes 1/2 cup of diced ham. I also cook it longer. It's sooo good! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timujin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
My first attempt at making quiche, and it turned out great! Few changes I made: -I couldn't find a deep dish 9" pie crust, so I filled two regular 9" crusts. -Used regular 2% milk instead of light cream. -Sauteed the mushrooms and onions for a couple minutes with the leftover bacon grease. I baked the pies separately to avoid uneven cooking. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I had to make this into a crustless quiche because I didn't have a pie pan. Also, I sauteed the mushrooms and spinach first because I wasn't sure how it would turn out throwing them in raw. But this was phenomenal! We are a quiche loving family, and it was so nice to be able to make it at home. Not nearly as difficult as I thought it would be either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I had to cook it a lot longer than 35 minutes. Way longer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Clark’s Quiche

Bacon, ham, and three types of cheese make this quiche a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States