Belle and Chron's Spinach and Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 1, 2003
The best quiche I have had! Based on previous recipes of quiche that I have used, I reduced the amount of spinach and mushrooms to 1 cup, and the amount of cream to only 1 cup as well. I've used this recipe over and over, and it always works. Substituting sliced green onions is delicious as well. If you live in a high elevation area like me you will need to increase the oven temperature to 425 Degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
This is INCREDIBLE and the best quiche. I recommend a few minor changes. Use regular cream, its thicker and cut down to 1 1/4 cup. You can use 2 regular pie crusts. It is too much for one pie shell. I also used 2 packages of thawed and drained spinach and canned mushrooms. It will cook in 30 minutes or less with the reduced liquid and thinner being in 2 shells. It is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I tried this recipe and my husband and I couldn't finish it. It was really runny and it took over an hour rather then the 30 minutes indicated in the original recipe. Also I think that the quantities indicated are too much for one pie shell. Will look for another quiche recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I liked very much the recipe, but I think that the indicated quantity is really for 2 pie crusts! This turned out to be great because the 1st pie was devoured in seconds. Everybody praised the recipe. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
My husband really enjoyed this! He LOVES quiche. I cut up the mushrooms and onions real small and the real bacon gave it great flavor! I made a different one a few weeks back that I also got on allrecipes and he told me to throw out that recipe and stick to this one! One word of caution.....this needs to cook for at least one hour! I took it out at 30 minutes and it was not even close to being cooked. I also had the same problem with it running out of the crust but that was because I mashed one little piece of it during preparation, otherwise it would have been fine! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
I love a good quiche - and who said real men don't eat it - I couldn't keep my husband away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
This quiche was very yummy. I doubled the recipe and slow cooked it at 350 in a 13x9 pan. To remove the water from the mushrooms and soften up the onions, I sauteed them a little bit before adding to the eggs. The people at the party couldn't believe that this was my first quiche. I made it with a mashed potato crust (from another recipe here). I will definitely make this one again. Yum, Yum..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Very good, but the crust I bought said "deep dish" and still the pie spilled all over my oven. I would suggest decreasing the amounts a little, unless you are certain your pie crust is deep enough. Otherwise, I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
The flavor was very good. I used packaged bacon bits to make it a little quicker and easier. The quiche was watery when I first cut it, and I had to drain off quite a bit of liquid. Also, the onion in it was crunchy (undercooked). I think you need to first saute the onions to soften/pre-cook them, possibly sauteing them with the mushrooms to exude the excess liquid from them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-139 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Clark’s Quiche

Bacon, ham, and three types of cheese make this quiche a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States