Belle and Chron's Spinach and Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I made this for my friends and I to have after a Girls' Night Out party. All of my friends agreed that it was great. They all wanted the recipe. I used baby portabella mushrooms, and I took others' advice and sauteed the onions and the mushrooms in a bit of the bacon grease before adding them into the egg mixture. Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
So yummy! I made this for a friend's baby shower brunch. I used tart shells instead and baked them for 20 min. and they came out perfectly. I followed others' advice and sauteed the mushrooms and onions and added 1 clove garlic (minced) and also some garlic salt for added flavour. I didn't have bacon and so used 1 cup of chopped shrimp. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I liked this recipe, but can't give it 5 stars because of all the changes I made. I made it into a crustless quiche and baked it in a 13x9 glass dish. I used 6 slices of bacon, 8 eggs, 1-1/2 cups light cream, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper, 2 pgk. (10 oz.)fresh baby spinach, steamed, 2 cups chopped mushrooms, sauteed in 2 Tbsp. bacon grease along with 1 cup onions. I used 1/2 pound of swiss cheese, which amounts to 2-1/4 cups (no cheddar). I saved 1/4 cup of the cheese to sprinkle on top. Mixed all ingredients together, baked at 375 for 35 minutes. I spent 45 minutes on prep time, plus the quiche needs to sit for about 10 minutes when it comes out of the oven. I couldn't see how I could mix raw spinach and raw mushrooms with the liquid, so cooked them lightly, and it worked out great. Sorry for the long review, but making these changes is the only way I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This quiche was amazing! I was happy to see the fresh spinach in the ingredients. I used the flaky pie crust recipe from Williams Sonoma's Baking Cookbook. Wondering if it might be a little better if the crust baked a little before adding the egg mixture - but it was still definitely a five star recipe. Thanks Belle and Chron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
My first quiche, and the best I've ever eaten! I took the reviewer's recommendation to use the leftover bacon grease to satuee, which really brought out good flavor. I didn't have a ready-made pie crust, so I made one myself, out of the 'Danish Pastry Apple Bars' recipe. (Just cut the dough ingredients in half, and there's your bottom pie crust! And I took the picture for that recipe there!!) I figured the apple pie crust would be just as delicious as a quiche pie crust, and I couldn't have been more right about that! Turned out FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clemson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Erfurt, Thüringen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Delicous and easy to make! a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was awesome. I also followed the other reviewer’s advice and added one cup of light cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Very good. Eat it for dinner, and then reheat it for breakfast. Makes a good quick meal the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was a HUGE hit at a potluck this evening. Unfortunately, I was in a rush to prepare something and I didn't read the reviews...YOU MUST CUT DOWN on the ingredients! Mine was oozing everywhere and like a previous review I finally took the quiche out of the oven and dumped a good bit of liquid down the drain. I think next time I will customize the servings to 6 as previously suggested. That being said, this is a phenomenal quiche! Great flavors and it really looked beautiful. It is nice to use fresh spinach and two cheeses. The only substitution I made was vegetarian bacon (Morning Star Farms from Trader Joes) because I was not sure if this potluck would include people who don't eat meat/pork. Also, I did not have any fresh nutmeg on hand, but that flavors were still perfect. One last note, a little tinfoil under the quiche pan will go a long way to keep your oven clean in case you have the same oozy experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Great taste. I scaled it down, so I had a few issues, but I am willing to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Clark’s Quiche

Bacon, ham, and three types of cheese make this quiche a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States