Belle and Chron's Spinach and Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
The flavor was very good. I used packaged bacon bits to make it a little quicker and easier. The quiche was watery when I first cut it, and I had to drain off quite a bit of liquid. Also, the onion in it was crunchy (undercooked). I think you need to first saute the onions to soften/pre-cook them, possibly sauteing them with the mushrooms to exude the excess liquid from them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Very good, but the crust I bought said "deep dish" and still the pie spilled all over my oven. I would suggest decreasing the amounts a little, unless you are certain your pie crust is deep enough. Otherwise, I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
This quiche was very yummy. I doubled the recipe and slow cooked it at 350 in a 13x9 pan. To remove the water from the mushrooms and soften up the onions, I sauteed them a little bit before adding to the eggs. The people at the party couldn't believe that this was my first quiche. I made it with a mashed potato crust (from another recipe here). I will definitely make this one again. Yum, Yum..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
I love a good quiche - and who said real men don't eat it - I couldn't keep my husband away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
My husband really enjoyed this! He LOVES quiche. I cut up the mushrooms and onions real small and the real bacon gave it great flavor! I made a different one a few weeks back that I also got on allrecipes and he told me to throw out that recipe and stick to this one! One word of caution.....this needs to cook for at least one hour! I took it out at 30 minutes and it was not even close to being cooked. I also had the same problem with it running out of the crust but that was because I mashed one little piece of it during preparation, otherwise it would have been fine! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I liked very much the recipe, but I think that the indicated quantity is really for 2 pie crusts! This turned out to be great because the 1st pie was devoured in seconds. Everybody praised the recipe. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I tried this recipe and my husband and I couldn't finish it. It was really runny and it took over an hour rather then the 30 minutes indicated in the original recipe. Also I think that the quantities indicated are too much for one pie shell. Will look for another quiche recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
This is INCREDIBLE and the best quiche. I recommend a few minor changes. Use regular cream, its thicker and cut down to 1 1/4 cup. You can use 2 regular pie crusts. It is too much for one pie shell. I also used 2 packages of thawed and drained spinach and canned mushrooms. It will cook in 30 minutes or less with the reduced liquid and thinner being in 2 shells. It is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
The best quiche I have had! Based on previous recipes of quiche that I have used, I reduced the amount of spinach and mushrooms to 1 cup, and the amount of cream to only 1 cup as well. I've used this recipe over and over, and it always works. Substituting sliced green onions is delicious as well. If you live in a high elevation area like me you will need to increase the oven temperature to 425 Degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
i had never made quiche before and picked this recipe at random. it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Clark’s Quiche

Bacon, ham, and three types of cheese make this quiche a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States