Belle and Chron's Spinach and Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
i followed the recipe almost exactly, except for the swiss cheese. i didn't have any swiss on hand, so i used 3/4 c. mozzarella and 1/4 c. parmesan to substitute. the quiche was a little runny,just let it set up for a while after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
EXCELLENT!!! VERY FLAVORFUL AND MORE SUBSTANTIAL THAN MOST QUICHES. WILL DEFINITELY MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I also reduced the cream to 1 cup, and added another egg as other reviewers suggested, but I still had to put it back in the oven because it was too liquidy. It was ok, but I'm only giving it 2 stars because it is more of an omelette than a quiche. I could have just made a spinach, mushroom and cheese omelette and it would taste the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Very flavorful. Everyone want's to experiment with bacon quiches now. Would have been a four star except I followed the recipe close to exactly, and made two quiches, and it was very runny and I cooked it for at least twice as long as it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
The texture of the eggs was a little weird. I think if I cut back on the cream a little more or even add another egg that might help. Also it was much better the next day. I might even try it without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I've made this a number of times for dinner and was asked to make it for Christmas morning breakfast. I omit the nutmeg and use those packaged 'real bacon' bacon bits to cut the prep time. Instead of a deep dish crust, I make two regular pies and there's plenty of filling for both. I can't imagine the filling would fit in one crust. Very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I made this without the piecrust to reduce carbs; it came out tasting great! Also, per many previous suggestions, I reduced the light cream to only 1 cup and wilted the spinach first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This was wonderful! I was so skeptical about the measurements after reading the reviews, but after comparing this recipe to other quiches I've made, I decided to use similar measurements. For one quiche, it turned out great! I used 4 slices turkey bacon, 3 eggs, 1 1/2 cups fat-free half-and-half, 4 cups fresh (unchopped) spinach (then wilted it in a frying pan on medium), 1 cup fresh mushrooms (sauteed in 1/2 Tbl. olive oil + 1 clove minced garlic), 1/2 cup chopped onions (sauteed in remaining turkey bacon bits), 1/2 cup Swiss cheese + 1/2 cup cheddar cheese. I reduced the pepper to 1/4 tsp. I baked it for 40 minutes with a pie shield on the crust. The 2nd time I made this, I reduced the oven temperature to 375 because it came out a little too done last time. I will do that again - came out perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
If you are like me and reading these comments after 35mins of cooking has yielded a liquid based quiche, you can follow the reviews notes below and simply drop the temp in your oven down to 200 degrees and let it cook on a low heat for about 40mins. That saved the say. In the future, I’ll scale back the ingredients…less cream for sure. Otherwise it’s pretty darn good. I will make it again now that I know how to modify it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This quiche was fantastic! Although, there did appear to be too much mixture. I didn't put all of it in my deep pie crust because it was overflowing. I did saute my mushrroms and onions in the bacon grease like previous reviewers. My husband really loved it, also. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Clark’s Quiche

Bacon, ham, and three types of cheese make this quiche a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States