Belle and Chron's Spinach and Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Pretty good recipe (and easy) but was a bit salty. I modified the recipe by adding shredded (from a package) potatoes on the bottom of the dish rather than a pie crust (and put it in a 9 x 13 pan) and also used only 3/4 C. half & half. I would make this again, but not add any salt and also cut back on the bacon a bit (I used fresh, real bacon) and see if that makes it less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This recipe is excellent. I used all sharp cheddar cheese. Passed it on to neighbors and they loved it. Thanks so much for the great quiche
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This was fabulous! Even my picky kids (who claim they hate spinach) liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
It was very tasty!!!! It was a little "juicy" at first.... I guess I didn't let it set long enough!!!!! I've never made a quiche before!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I made this recipe using all Jarlsberg swiss. It wasn't as strongly "cheese" flavored as I would have liked. Also, I sauteed my onions and mushrooms in the bacon grease. Despite adding 1tbsp of white flour (dissolved in the cream) the quiche turned out creamier than I'd like. I don't know how much of that was due to my use of 100% swiss cheese. Maybe adding an egg or two would help to firm it up. All in all, this is an excellent recipe. The flavors combine well and are present in appropriate proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This was delicious! I didn't have any mushrooms, so I only used spinach. I don't eat meat, so I left out the bacon. I should have read the other reviews prior to making because the recipe makes too much for a deep dish crust. The next time I make it I will probably use two regular crusts instead of the one deep dish. It did seem to take quite a bit longer than the recipe called for to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This quiche is delicious!! My husband and daughter love it when I make this one. I think the next time I make it, I'm going to use a little less cream and perhaps an extra egg. It seems like it's not quite eggy enough for me. Edited to add: I've now made this recipe close to ten times, we still love it just as much as we did the first time we tried it. I always add an extra egg and use only 1 cup of half and half. I use whatever cheese I have on hand, which usually is a colby or cheddar/jack blend. I load it up with lots of fresh spinach and mushrooms. It's a really great quiche, definitely my go to quiche recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I was expecting company this weekend, so I made this recipe and my husband absolutely loved it. The only thing I did different was sautee my mushrooms, spinach and onions because I don't care for crunchy vegetables. I cut my swiss cheese into small chunks instead of shredding it. The flavor was unbelievable. I was so proud of myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
So easy yet delicious. Was a big hit at a baby shower. Have made it for dinner and husband and kids enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
i followed the recipe almost exactly, except for the swiss cheese. i didn't have any swiss on hand, so i used 3/4 c. mozzarella and 1/4 c. parmesan to substitute. the quiche was a little runny,just let it set up for a while after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Clark’s Quiche

Bacon, ham, and three types of cheese make this quiche a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States