Bella's Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This recipe is quick, easy, and tasty--when fresh. My only problem is that it doesn't make good leftovers. After being refrigerated, it is nearly impossible to spoon out of the pan since the cheese hardens when it cools, and it doesn't reheat well, all the cheese sinks to the bottom of the pan leaving oily pasta at the top. My son loves mac and cheese and I like to make a lot for dinner and reheat it for his lunch the next day, a no-go with this recipe, he won't eat it. I do continue to use this recipe, but I only make half so as to avoid waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This was really quick and good but i did need to add some milk before 2nd microwave and it came out really creamy. I don't buy american cheese so used just cheddar maybe thats why. But i liked it the way it came out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
This tasted much better than the store bought brand. However, it's only good right after you cook it. After it's cooled down, it doesn't taste great, and it gets oily after reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Ummmm.....it was ok, like the post before my children liked it. My hubby and I thought a box of Kraft would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Loved it, Husband and kids ask for it once a week. Very easy to make, I make it before I go to work, so kids and Hubby have something nice and hot when they get home. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Okay. My husband and I thought it was lumpy and bland, but our 2 yr old absolutely loved it! It was unappetizing after about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
the recipe didn't work very well for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This tastes like buffet style homemade mac and cheese. We have been looking for a simple, good recipe and we've tried a few that were not very good. THIS IS WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I made this into a single serving, with healthier ingredients, and it came out great! I used 1/2 cup of whole wheat elbow mac, 1 oz of sliced reduced fat american cheese, 1 oz of reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese, 2 tsp i can't believe it's not butter. The butter/cheese mixture hardened pretty quickly after microwaving so I kept the stove on low after draining the macaroni and mixed it all together nicely in the hot pan. I also added a bit of fat free half and half which I didn't measure. Didn't let stand 10 minutes. Overall, a good replacement for the boxed stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
4 stars because my kids (ages 2 & almost 5) loved it and gobbled it up! And it was easy. I used the general proportions of the recipe but to make much less. Melted everything in a big pyrex measuring cup and just stirred whole grain 3-color macaroni right into the same dish. Husband and I ate the leftovers but just because it was there. I liked it but it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States