Belgium Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I've made this numerous times and love it. A wonderful balance flavors with the extra tender meat, silky onions and tangy and sweet (depending on your taste) base. I always add more brown sugar, extra mustard and use apple cider vinegar. Fantastic with added potatoes (and veg) or served over them or noodles. My tip: I found it easier to brown the meat first and then only add the flour after caramelizing the onions to create a roué.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHEMNTEACH
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
We loved this and added it to our recipe box! I followed everything except didn't have fresh Thyme, tasted fine with dried Thyme. Wanted something without potatoes and this fit the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEMNTEACH
Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Was very bland. My family did not enjoy this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Rosario

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, California, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
We loved this! I followed the recipe to the end, but I did add some small new potatoes. I have been making beef stew for over 40 years, but my husband and I agreed this was the best!! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Hands down the best beef stew I've ever had! I made this for company and had no leftovers. I added two small potatoes I had on hand, but it would have been fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made this several times, but added veggies and potatoes. Love it everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
We really liked this recipe. I added a potato and a rutabaga since we had lots of extra root vegetables. I didn't have the white wine vinegar so used red wine vinegar. I'm sure we will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Execellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I took this to a party and it received rave reviews! I was a little worried about how much onion was in the recipe, but it added wonderful flavor! I didn't have any bread, so I chopped up a potato and added that. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Mmmmmm Frietjes Met Stoverij This is a great recipe, We have always had it served with Fries, with a bit of hot mustard on the side.. My moms from Ghent!So when I tried this recipe I found as yummy as my moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States