Belgium Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I've made this numerous times and love it. A wonderful balance flavors with the extra tender meat, silky onions and tangy and sweet (depending on your taste) base. I always add more brown sugar, extra mustard and use apple cider vinegar. Fantastic with added potatoes (and veg) or served over them or noodles. My tip: I found it easier to brown the meat first and then only add the flour after caramelizing the onions to create a roué.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHEMNTEACH
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
We loved this and added it to our recipe box! I followed everything except didn't have fresh Thyme, tasted fine with dried Thyme. Wanted something without potatoes and this fit the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEMNTEACH
Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Was very bland. My family did not enjoy this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Rosario

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, California, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
We loved this! I followed the recipe to the end, but I did add some small new potatoes. I have been making beef stew for over 40 years, but my husband and I agreed this was the best!! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Hands down the best beef stew I've ever had! I made this for company and had no leftovers. I added two small potatoes I had on hand, but it would have been fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made this several times, but added veggies and potatoes. Love it everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
We really liked this recipe. I added a potato and a rutabaga since we had lots of extra root vegetables. I didn't have the white wine vinegar so used red wine vinegar. I'm sure we will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Execellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I took this to a party and it received rave reviews! I was a little worried about how much onion was in the recipe, but it added wonderful flavor! I didn't have any bread, so I chopped up a potato and added that. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Mmmmmm Frietjes Met Stoverij This is a great recipe, We have always had it served with Fries, with a bit of hot mustard on the side.. My moms from Ghent!So when I tried this recipe I found as yummy as my moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States