Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I don't know how it was BECAUSE IT'S MISSING A STEP :-( I'll have to try this again. I have never worked with yeast before so I did not realize we were checking the yeast by adding it to the warm milk. This NEEDS to be explained because now, almost 2 hours later, my batter didn't expand or rise and so I googled yeast to get some information and found out we were 'proofing' the yeast to make sure it worked. My didn't make air bubbles.. it changed color abit and 'creamy' could be a texture/color too so I figured it did what it had to and moved on. Google tells me otherwise, that I had 'tired' yeast because it needs to bubble! so I should've thrown that out and tried again with another packet (we have cooking thermometers and the milk temperature was 110 so that wasn't the problem) ::disappointed bc I'll have to try this again another day bc I didn't know to look for bubbles/my yeast wasn't right:: HOPEFULLY this helps someone else along the way... I will re-try another day--- right now I have to find something else (or maybe try the non-puffy batter? idk yet) to feed the kids bc we're all hungry!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef-dad-corey
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This is my first time making these. PERFECT! I followed the directions exactly and these waffles were amazing! I topped them with French vanilla ice cream, whip cream, fresh fruit and dusted with icing sugar! And of course maple syrup! Thanks for sharing this recipe. It has been added to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
These were the most amazing waffles I've ever had! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe! I substituted cake flour instead of all purpose and the waffles were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Not sure what I did wrong with this recipe but I've made waffles with my waffle iron many a times and it always came out great but with this recipe it came out cooked on the outside and uncooked on the inside. Not sure what was wrong. I won't be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kawartha Lakes, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Just made the first batch and man are these good! definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodman.Germain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Tried these today. I made them gluten free, salt free and subbed the refined white sugar amongst other things. I also didn't separate the eggs as suggested by one of the other users. No sense really. They are really very close to the waffles I've had in Liege, Belgium. My kids didn't even notice they were gluten free! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I was hoping this would be delicious. I was looking for a better waffle recipe, as I've enjoyed the other recipes we've tried, but was hoping for more of a Belgian, crispy crust, and yet soft centered waffle. This was NOT it! They tasted very strongly of yeast, and the texture was nothing close to what I was hoping for. They were kind of soft and springy and gooey, with no crispness to be found. I followed the recipe exactly, and saw someone say they were better after refrigerating the batter overnight... that DIDN'T help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Reminds me of the real Belgian waffles, tasty and good! Tried so many 'ok' recipes that I'm happy to finally find the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IceQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Super yummy! I used almond milk and only 1/2 cup butter, and let it sit overnight in the fridge. It did not double but it was very foamy/bubbly. Wonderful taste and texture. We made it for a playdate with a bunch of 3-4 year olds and it was a total hit with everyone. I had a regular waffle iron and this recipe yielded approximately 10 (8") waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States