Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I just came back from Belgium where I feasted on delicious, sweet, melt in your mouth waffles. In my opinion this waffle recipe fell flat. I didn't think these were doughy, sweet, or crispy enough. They honestly didn't taste that much different than a typical American waffle and the effort to make them was significant. Real Belgian waffles are much much sweeter than these without any topping whatsoever. They're also supposed to be much more bread like (imagine a doughy center of a cinnamon roll type consistency). These were just a little tiny bit doughier than typical waffles. I think I'll keep searching for the right Belgian waffle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Great recipe that makes 8-10 Belgium waffles! I followed the recipe as written except added whole eggs to butter & sugar rather than separating them. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I am not sure if I did something wrong with the waffles, or what but they didn't rise at all. I made sure my milk was no warmer or colder than the temperatures indicated. When I let it sit for an hour, the batter got 'bubbley' but didn't rise. When, I put them in the maker to cook them they were kind of flat. I may try it again, but not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I just received my new Belgian Waffle Maker and decided to make them for dinner and freeze the leftovers. They were delicious. I've never made waffles but I will be making this recipe often! My husband has always made the waffles in our old, two waffle iron. After many years, we decided to replace it and I bought the Presto Flip Belgian waffle maker. My batter rose so much, it dripped over the bowl; fortunately it was on a cookie sheet in the oven, so I managed to save the overflow. Next time I know to use a larger bowl. It was a time consuming recipe and uses lots of bowls, so I can see why most like to make it and store it overnight. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My search for the perfect waffle recipe is finally over! The kids love them and keep saying "these are the best waffles ever!" So worth the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Françoise Walusis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I tried this recipe too and it is the best ever so far; they are so delicious that I can eat them also without whipped cream, mapple syroup, fruits etc Plus they do not have that smell and taste like others, they are simple delicious! Try these with greek yogurt instead of whipped cream, they are tasty and healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina Dirnea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very nice fluffy center and crispy outside. Taste is slightly more yeasty than I would like. Maybe that's authentic? But it's not quite for me especially given the time involved. I'll be going back to my crispy waffle recipe next time instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious, nicely risen waffles! I used salted butter and only 1 teaspoon of salt and, like other reviewers, substituted whole wheat flour for half of the white flour and made them 8 hours ahead, letting them chill in the fridge after rising an hour at warm room temp. Tip: I find I get better browning on my waffles when I don't oil the iron between batches. I oil it only after cleaning. (There's enough butter in the batter; even without oil, the waffles don't stick.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Patience when following the directions will pay off with authentic Belgian Waffles that have taste and texture straight from Antwerp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made triple sized recipe for Christmas brunch since I was having 18 people. I made them all in separate bowls since there were some reviews of it not turning out if doubled. Made an error and put the whites in the bowl, not the yokes, so one batch did not have the whites whipped til stiff. So here is the difference if you do not whip the whites. The batches with whipped whites rose much more and made twice as many waffles. Got about 16+ out of each. The one without whipping whites made exactly 8. Tasted the same to me, but the one with unwhipped whites was more dense, not at fluffy. I also did a slow rise in the fridge overnight, so you can make ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States