Belgian Molasses Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Loved your bread! Halved the recipe, and made the dough in my bread machine, then formed it and baked it as usual. I normally make my dough in the machine, but don't like the way it looks after it's cooked, but love having the machine do all the kneading!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
AWESOME bread! This is absolutely the best bread that I've ever made in my bread machine. I've made it twice now (in less than a week) and it came out great both times. My family raved about it; even my picky son who is not normally a big bread eater asked for thirds! I did change just a couple of things b/c I can't seem to leave a recipe alone... I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups bread flour and also added 4 tsp. vital wheat gluten. Next time I'm also going to try adding some honey. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This just came out of the oven and it is delicious! I used my bread machines dough setting and baked it in the oven as 2 loaves. I made the recipe exact except I used 1 1/2 cups all purpose and 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour. This is the first bread I made with whole wheat flour that turned out light and fluffy instead of dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very tasty bread, but I found I didn't like the combination with most of my usual sandwiches. I found myself using it mainly for toast or plain buttered bread. For that reason I may not make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My family and I love this bread!! We love it so much that it's the only bread I ever make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
The molasses contributes a very unique, earthy flavor to this soft bread. I didn't change a thing, and the result was a perfect bread for sandwiches or toast. Be aware that although the texture is nice and moist, it does crumb significantly when cut. When we just couldn't eat it fast enough to keep it from getting stale, I took those leftover pieces that weren't fresh anymore, and gave them new life in the Bread Pudding II recipe from this site. Wow! That was the best bread pudding I've ever eaten. No matter what you use this for, it could not possibly be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Definitely a tasty, hearty bread. I'm going to try doubling the molasses for the next batch. It smells terrific when toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is a nice, hefty bread. it's rather soft, which bf loves, but still has a flavor that reminds me of a a whole wheat loaf. I used the bread machine to mix the dough and baked in the oven at 350 for 30 mins. Worked perfectly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
my first loaf i ever did loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My loaf didn't rise as much as I wanted, but I will say the flavor was wonderful! I love molasses breads and this one is great. I think I'll get some new yeast and try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLSHILLINGS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States