Belgian Endive au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Wonderful recipe. If you don't want your sauce to become too runny, cook your endives the day before, so they can drain well. I'm Belgian too and this is one of our favorite Belgian dishes. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meurtelken

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This recipe turned out exactly how my father always made it. I'm also Belgian, and it had been years since I've had this! It's AMAZING. Definitely one of my favorite meals ever. The sauce tastes amazing and complements perfectly with the flavor and texture of the endives. Will make over and over again! Thank you for posting this recipe. I will have my American friends try it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Forest Of Stars

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I first had this while living in Gent, Belgium. It's fantastic! I would have never had this otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
My husband and I loved it! Next time I'll try steaming the endive instead of boiling to retain more nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Urheka! I found a recipe for Endive. As soon as I can find some endive in a local market I'll be sure to make this and write a review of the recipe. Do you know anyting about a dish made with cabbage, ham and spaghetti pasta?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Thanks for sharing this classic recipe! The cream and cheese in this recipe makes for a nice contrast to the sharp taste of the endives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Absolutely delicious! We used prosciutto instead of deli ham and didn't really measure the spices. My husband would like to replace some of the milk with Belgian beer next time we make this. I cooked the endive, put it in ice water, then gently squeezed out the excess water into a towel before wrapping with the prosciutto. Ours did not turn out watery at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Just perfect ! Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
We eat this dish at least twice a month. We never boil the endive though. Just wrap the fresh endive (cut in halves) with ham, then top with the béchamel and cheese. I bake it at 200°C for 20 minutes and it is cooked perfectly every time. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I was an exchange student in Belgium for my senior year of high school and I was really taken with chicon au gratin while I was over there. This recipe was nearly perfect, but I found I had to double the sauce amount and I added a splash of white wine to the sauce. :) I found that way, it more closely resembled the chicon au gratin I'd had in Brussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States