Belgian Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Meowz
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Great recipe. I used a bottle of Chimay red (a Belgian Trappist ale) and also added a twig of rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meowz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
Dee-lishious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This is the BEST beef stew recipe I've ever made! I don't know what it was, the beer,the lemon juice, the bacon that gave this stew such a wonderful flavor, but it really was wonderful. I did the prep on the stove and then cooked it in the crock-pot. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
Really unusual but excellent dish. I mean, beer and lemon juice? With beef and bacon??? Something about the combination of flavors just makes for a fantastic, memorable stew. I would serve this to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Having no idea what Belgium Beef Stew would turn out to be, everyone was pleasantly surprised in the depth of the flavor. Very easy and yet flavorful, definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
very tasty - thick and filling- we loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This is a tasty, rather decadent stew. Another similar recipe suggested topping it with Dijon-smeared pieces of french bread, which was yummy and might offset the "soupy" concern some have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This was very good! I'd just add some extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
Wonderful aroma, great with noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I recently used this recipe for a beer-themed party. Though it takes 2 hours to cook, it definitely has a great flavor. It tastes great with beer bread. I substituted ground beef chuck and it looked a little less classy than it could've, but everyone enjoyed it. My only problem was the large amounts of fatty bacon in the stew, and also that it was much soupier than I'd thought it would be. I think if I make it again, I might use a bit less bacon and a little more flour. I definitely loved the lemon taste mixed with the beer--and I don't even like beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States