Bela's Stuffed Red Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
As a side dish the filling is great but I'm not convinced that it pairs well with a cooked red bell pepper. I used pinkeye purple hull peas instead of blackeyed peas which I prefer and substituted kale for the Swiss chard because I had some on hand. As a filling it seems to need some type of sauce most likely tomato-based or a creamy mushroom. I could also see using different type beans such as black beans and doing a Cuban spin on this with the addition of cumin and cooked green bell pepper. I did say it didn't pair well with the red bell pepper but I think it would be better to have chopped green bell pepper added with the garlic and onion especially if you do the Cuban beans as mentioned before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Delicious! I cooked my rice in 2 cups of low sodium veggie broth for some extra flavor, used black beans instead of pinto (what I had in the pantry), and used the entire onion and whole bunch of rainbow chard. You can never have too many veggies! I would recommend some hot sauce (cholula, sriracha, etc), or even some cayenne, thrown into the filling. Otherwise, great as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Photo by SAZ
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Great recipe! Made a few modifications, I also had to bake the bell peppers for about 40 minutes. I added cumin and cayenne pepper, extra chard, and cilantro just before serving. I also cooked the brown rice with vegetable broth. It was delicious! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I really liked it, but next time I will use twice the garlic. It might also be good with some sort of sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
great basic recipe...great directions...i was actually successful! woohoo! I added a texican flare and incorporated oregano and black beans while it was simmering and then a little bit of taco seasoning, cumin and cilantro at the end before stuffing....ahhhmazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was really good. I feel like it just lacked a tiny bit of flavor. I would maybe add some thyme or oregano to it next time, but it was excellent otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Creativenicole
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I made quite a few modifications but this recipe is pretty forgiving...it turned out amazing! I had a meat eater say "if I could eat stuff like this every day, it would be easy to be a vegeatarian". Only thing with this recipe is it took way longer to roast the red peppers...closer to 40 minutes. I added mushrooms and used extra swiss chard (rainbow chard actually) like some of the other users. The mushrooms were good for a meaty texture. I cooked the rice with diced tomatoes/broth along with the water. I used chick peas instead of black eyed peas, because that's what I had. I think the others would be better, but it was still delish. I also added a cheese alternative to the mix to keep it sticky. A few dashes of cumin and drizze of agave nectar in the mix rounded out the flavor nicely. The photo with the red peppers were mine. They tasted as good as they looked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Great vegetarian version of stuffed peppers! I did cook the rice in beef broth, next time I may use mushroom broth to "beef" it up & keep it truly vegetarian. I also added stewed tomatoes to the black eyed pea mixture, as it appeared a bit dry for stuffing and baked the peppers in tomato juice as I like a saucy stuffed pepper. I didn't garnish it with cheese, but my husband thought it needed it...something his Mom did I suppose. Thank you MOTTSBELA for sharing your recipe! I agree with other reviews about a great way to use black eyed peas, but also my overabundance of swiss chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Love this recipe! I added diced mushrooms, and sauteed them with the onions, garlic, and olice oil before adding the beans and rice. I also substituted baby spinach for swiss chard because that's what I had on hand. Came out great! Two meat eaters gave it rave reviews and said if they didn't know if was a vegetarian recipe, they wouldn't have guessed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe! I doubled the ingredients (8) and added all of the Swiss Chard (bunch) also, I added a half cup of parmesan cheese to the mix. AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States